Hampshire announce OSCA winners

Hampshire announce OSCA winners

30th August 2010

The Hampshire OSCAs winners were announced at the HCB Volunteers and Chance 2 Shine Recognition Event at the Rose Bowl.

The NatWest OSCAs are awarded to people that have made an outstanding contribution to cricket at their club or within the local area over the past year and more.

Officials- Umpires & Scorers

Pete Marshall - In the space of eight months Pete has spearheaded the creation of the Blind Cricket England & Wales Umpires Panel, recruiting 25 umpires from across the country to stand in all league and cup matches in the 2010 season.

Leagues & Boards

Steve Vear - Steve is best known in his role of Southern Electric Premier League Secretary which he has completed for the past five years. Steve has developed excellent relationships with clubs throughout the league and continues to be a key contributor to the ongoing success of the SEPL.

NatWest CricketForce

Colin Samuels & Rotherfield Park CC - Colin masterminded the club’s first foray into NatWest CricketForce, putting together a plan for the renovation of club facilities. The 2010 project recorded savings of over £2,500 and things are already in place for next year’s project.

Building Partnerships

Malcolm Kerry - Malcolm is the Chance 2 Shine Club Manager at Aldershot Cricket Club and has been responsible for changing the culture within local state schools to include and promote cricket. Regular teacher training, secondary school cricket leagues and a strong school:club link are just some of Malcolm’s extraordinary achievements.

Young Volunteer

Matt Benfield - Matt is heavily involved in everything at Portsmouth & Southsea Cricket Club. Coaching, groundwork, captaining the midweek XI and running fundraising barbeques, alongside playing for the First XI and U17s, Matt has been a key contributor to the success of the club and all at just 16.

Behind the Scenes

Tim Jacobs - Tim has been a guiding influence at Portsmouth & Southsea Cricket Club and within the South East Hampshire Cricket Association. An excellent coach and administrator, Tim’s unerring commitment has made a significant difference to the development of junior cricketers in the area.

Lifetime Achievement

Colin Savage - Colin has contributed and continues to contribute an extraordinary amount to the development of cricket in Hampshire. From his involvement in creating the Hampshire Cricket League to the Southern League’s transition to ECB Premier League status and the formation and success of the Hampshire Cricket Board, Colin’s impact can not be overestimated. A worthy recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.


Alongside the winners a number of nominees were selected as runners-up.

Behind the Scenes - Chris Warren, for his work in developing a junior section at East Meon Cricket Club, and Susanna Jenkins for her part in raising funds at St Cross Symondians Cricket Club.

Young Volunteer - James Gradwell, captain, caterer and coach at Fair Oak CC and Tom Prodomo, assistant groundsman contributing over 100 hours of volunteer hours at New Milton CC.

Lifetime Achievement - Alan Sturgess has contributed a huge amount to the success of Fawley CC and continues to do so as groundsman and club welfare officer.