Volunteers honoured at OSCAs

Volunteers honoured at OSCAs

19th October 2010

Former England captain Michael Vaughan was among the guests at the 2010 NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs) held at Lord’s last night.

The ceremony, hosted by Jonathan Agnew, paid recognition to volunteers young and old from across the cricketing landscape and saw eight awards presented to reward the outstanding contribution of individuals.

Mike Gatting, the ECB’s managing director - cricket partnerships, presented Bob Cherry from the Kidsgrove & District Junior Cricket League with the lifetime achievement award.

Bob has been a stalwart of Staffordshire cricket for over 70 years as a player, umpire, and administrator and in the development of boys’ and girls’ cricket.

The NatWest CricketForce award was presented by Vaughan to Lisa Phillimore for her exceptional efforts in attaining significant sponsorship and recruiting 130 volunteers for Bexhill Cricket Club NatWest CricketForce events.

Tom Mills, who has volunteered for Formby Cricket Club for over four years, picked up the young volunteer award for his outstanding contribution raising funds for the club. Tom also took over the management of the club ground following the sudden departure of the groundsman, and his wicket was voted best in the league by the umpires.

Commenting on the awards, Gatting said: “Recognising the unsung heroes and heroines of the game is so important. They are the ones, young and old, who selflessly give up their time to support clubs.

“From coaching, scoring, maintaining the grounds to making the tea, it all counts and that’s why we’re here at the NatWest OSCAs, to applaud all these fantastic volunteers.’

2010 NatWest OSCAs winners:

Behind the scenes: Kevin Malone, Derbyshire

Building partnerships: Michael Prentice, Sussex

Leagues and boards: Sheila Hill, Middlesex

Lifetime achievement: Bob Cherry, Staffordshire

NatWest CricketForce: Lisa Phillimore, Sussex

Officiating and scoring: Peter Marshall, Hampshire

Young volunteer: Tom Mills, Lancashire

Outstanding contribution to disability cricket: Martin Haselock