NatWest OSCAs shortlist announced

NatWest OSCAs shortlist announced

21st September 2012

The shortlists for the tenth annual NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards have been announced.

Eight NatWest OSCAs will be presented in front of 400 guests from the recreational game at a prestigious event in the Nursery Pavilion at Lord’s on Monday 22 October.

The NatWest OSCAs were established in 2003 to reward cricket’s unsung heroes and recognise the efforts of grassroots volunteers from all over the county. The awards form an integral part of both NatWest and the ECB’s Volunteering Programmes which gives cricket clubs advice on recruiting, educating and rewarding volunteers.

Hundreds of volunteers were nominated through clubs and county cricket boards, before an esteemed panel of representatives from the ECB, County Sport Partnership, The FA, Civil Service Sports Council and NatWest formed the shortlists.

NatWest OSCAs 2012 nominees

Behind the Scenes

  • Jonathan Jackson - Bartestree and Lugwardine Cricket Club, Herefordshire
  • Dave Lander - Penn Street Cricket Club, Buckinghamshire
  • Steve Martlew - Wigan Cricket Club, Lancashire

Building Partnerships

  • Paul Daniels - Old Elthamians Cricket Club, Kent
  • Richard Henchley - Newham Cricket Club, Essex
  • John Smith - Dulwich Cricket Club, Surrey

Leagues and Boards

  • Colin King - Mid Norfolk Sunday Cricket League
  • Paul Grainger & Kevin Drew - North Worcestershire Cricket Development Group
  • Phil Williams - Warwickshire Cricket Board and Midland Club Cricket Conference

Lifetime Achiever

  • Chris Evans - Ashford Cricket Club, Surrey
  • Peter Thomas - Swardeston Cricket Club, Norfolk
  • Frank Wilkinson - Morecambe Cricket Club, Lancashire

NatWest CricketForce

  • Bobby Cross - Heywood Cricket Club, Lancashire
  • John Gray - Galleywood Cricket Club, Essex
  • Amy Rowlinson - Bromley Town Cricket Club, Kent

Officiating - Umpires & Scorers

  • Deborah Burns - Middlesex Association of Cricket Officials (ACO)
  • Lorraine Elgar - Swale Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers, Kent
  • Alan English - Thames Valley Cricket League, Bucks Association of Cricket Officials

Young Volunteer

  • Christopher Edwards - Cheshire Disability Squad
  • Matiullah Haidar - Cricket for Change, Surrey
  • Carl Tupper - West Wittering Cricket Club, Sussex

Outstanding Service to Disability Cricket Award

  • Winner to be announced at event only

Paying tribute to the nominees, Mike Gatting, MD Cricket Partnerships, said: “Volunteers are the lifeblood of our game. The candidates shortlisted today all play a vital role in ensuring that our grassroots game can continue to flourish and everyone here at the ECB is looking forward to seeing these people rewarded.”

Chris Long, Senior Manager - Sponsorship, UK Retail at NatWest said: “We’re very proud to have supported the NatWest OSCAs since they began, it is such a great way to end the season and recognise the game’s volunteers. The shortlisted nominees are all worthy recipients who all play an extremely important role in both community cricket as a whole and in their individual clubs. We look forward to celebrating with them when we reveal the national winners in October.”

Watch our video from the 2011 NatWest OSCAs ceremony at Lord’s