RSS feeds from

Club Cricket news RSS

Club Championship set to commence

Sunday sees the first round of the ECB National Club Championship take place, with over 120 matches being played around England and Wales, from Blaydon near Newcastle-upon-Tyne to Truro in Cornwall.

The 2012 champions York, who have also won the Yorkshire County Premier League for the last six seasons, will be hosting York & District League side Beverley Town as they attempt to be the first side to retain the title since Chorley in 1995.

Last season's runners-up Wanstead & Snaresbrook begin their quest to go one better in 2013 with a short trip to Enfield, who themselves have already come through a preliminary-round match against another Essex League side, Gidea Park & Romford.

Dominic Cork & Daniel Woods

Dominic Cork presents the ECB National Club Championship to York skipper Daniel Woods following his side's victory last year. The 2013 edition will begin on Sunday, with York set to face Beverley Town

Birmingham & District Premier League side Shrewsbury, who won the competition in 2011, have a tough first-round match against Cheshire League side Chester Boughton Hall, while the reigning ECB National Club t20 and Surrey Championship champions Wimbledon hope to add the 45-over title to their trophy cabinet with a trip to Uxbridge of the Middlesex County League.

Kibworth, 2004 and 2008 winners, host 2011 runners-up Cambridge Granta in one of the strongest-looking matches of round one with both clubs looking to make a good start to a long season and Chester-le-Street, who took home the title in 2009, face a trip to Yorkshire to play Easingwold.

The 2010 champions South Northumberland, who chose to play their first-round match a week early, have already booked their place in the next phase following their six-wicket win against Guisborough last weekend.

The ECB National Club Championship consists of eight rounds played throughout the season with the final taking place on Sunday 15 September. Prize money is awarded to those clubs reaching the later stages of the competition, with £4,000 for the winners and £2,000 for the runners-up; money is given to all clubs reaching the last 16.