England Blind team now to tour Sri Lanka

ECB logo - small version

The England Blind team will now be touring Sri Lanka to prepare for their World Cup bid in South Africa in 2006, following the cancellation of the planned tour of Pakistan.

The recent south asia earthquake has prevented that tour taking place. However, the Pakistanis have been invited to travel to England in May next year for a short ODI series prior to the World Cup.

Fresh from their Ashes triumph in 2004, the England Blind team will head to Sri Lanka this month in good spirits.

In summer 2002, however, Pakistan beat England 3-1 in a memorable series in England before going on to win the World Cup in December of that year. They beat South Africa in the final.

England are now ranked third in the world by the World Blind Cricket Council after the Ashes win.

Further recent good news for Blind Cricketers was that the World Blind Cricket Council (WBCC) has now been recognised by the ICC.

England Blind squad: Heindrich Swanepoel (capt), Keryn Seal, Bryn Reynolds, Miles Northwood, Andy Powers, Sam Murray, Andy Dalby-Welsh, Rory Field, Nathan Foy, Howard Greenhill, Matt Dean, Dave Townly, Luke Sugg, Dean Field, Mark Pickup.