RSS feeds from

Places news RSS

Entries requested for IOG awards

Entries are now being accepted for this year’s Institute of Groundsmanship 2012 Industry Awards.

The gongs recognise the skill of groundsmanship across all main professional sports, as well as education, volunteer and grassroots sports at many different venues.

Nominations can easily be made here for the only industry-wide annual awards that acknowledge the important contribution made by groundcare staff.

The results will be announced Oscar-style at York Racecourse on Thursday, December 6 following the IOG’s 2012 Sports Turf Conference.

Including categories that embrace education, grassroots, multi-sports and professional, this year’s awards also salute the groundsmen of the year in all the main professional sports of football, cricket, rugby union and rugby league, as well as horse racing and tennis.

IOG chief executive Geoff Webb said: “Following three successful years of sell-out award presentation evenings, this year’s event has been further enhanced to acknowledge the expertise of groundsmanship in a broad cross-section of sports.

“The IOG represents a diverse range of groundscare skills and our awards programme now reflects the various sectors that fully deserve recognition for the excellent high standards found in facilities today at both amateur and professional level.

“There are many excellent examples of high-quality groundsmanship across all sectors, so if you think you know someone or somewhere that deserves recognition, now is the time to nominate them using our improved, easy access online site

“Coupled with the ongoing and extensive coverage of the awards - and the award winners themselves – on Sky Sports News and talkSPORT radio, in addition to the extensive publicity attracted each year throughout the turf and sports press as well as in local/regional media, we are confident that this year’s event will again be a fantastic evening.”

The categories of entry to the IOG ‘Ahead of the Game’ 2012 Industry Awards

Education Awards

Most Promising Sportsturf Student of the Year
Young Groundsman of the Year

Grass Roots Awards

Volunteer Sports Groundsman of the Year
Grass Roots Sports Ground of the Year

Multi-sport Awards

Best Maintained Artificial Pitch of the Year
School, College, University Sports Club Grounds Team of the Year
School, College, University, Sports Club Groundsman of the Year

Professional Awards

Professional Spectator Sports Ground of the Year
Professional Sports Ground Team of the Year
Professional Football Groundsman of the Year
Professional Cricket Groundsman of the Year
Professional Rugby Union Groundsman of the Year
Professional Rugby League Groundsman of the Year
Professional Horse Racing Groundsman of the Year
Professional Tennis Groundsman of the Year

Additional Award categories

Environmental Project/Innovation of the Year Award
Lifetime Achievement Award
The Alex R Millar IOG Groundsman of the Year Award