NatWest OSCAs shortlist announced

Oscas 250

The shortlists for the tenth annual NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards have been announced.

NatWest OSCAs 2011

England stars Matt Prior and James Anderson pose with last year's Lifetime Achiever award winner Richard Fowkes

Eight NatWest OSCAs will be presented in front of 400 guests from the recreational game at a prestigious event in the Nursery Pavilion at Lord’s on Monday 22 October.

The NatWest OSCAs were established in 2003 to reward cricket’s unsung heroes and recognise the efforts of grassroots volunteers from all over the county. The awards form an integral part of both NatWest and the ECB’s Volunteering Programmes which gives cricket clubs advice on recruiting, educating and rewarding volunteers.

Hundreds of volunteers were nominated through clubs and county cricket boards, before an esteemed panel of representatives from the ECB, County Sport Partnership, The FA, Civil Service Sports Council and NatWest formed the shortlists.

NatWest OSCAs 2012 nominees

Behind the Scenes
Jonathan Jackson - Bartestree and Lugwardine Cricket Club, Herefordshire
Dave Lander - Penn Street Cricket Club, Buckinghamshire
Steve Martlew - Wigan Cricket Club, Lancashire

Building Partnerships
Paul Daniels - Old Elthamians Cricket Club, Kent
Richard Henchley - Newham Cricket Club, Essex
John Smith - Dulwich Cricket Club, Surrey

Leagues and Boards
Colin King - Mid Norfolk Sunday Cricket League
Paul Grainger & Kevin Drew - North Worcestershire Cricket Development Group
Phil Williams - Warwickshire Cricket Board and Midland Club Cricket Conference

Lifetime Achiever
Chris Evans - Ashford Cricket Club, Surrey
Peter Thomas - Swardeston Cricket Club, Norfolk
Frank Wilkinson - Morecambe Cricket Club, Lancashire

NatWest CricketForce
Bobby Cross - Heywood Cricket Club, Lancashire
John Gray - Galleywood Cricket Club, Essex
Amy Rowlinson - Bromley Town Cricket Club, Kent

Officiating - Umpires & Scorers
Deborah Burns - Middlesex Association of Cricket Officials (ACO)
Lorraine Elgar - Swale Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers, Kent
Alan English - Thames Valley Cricket League, Bucks Association of Cricket Officials

Young Volunteer
Christopher Edwards - Cheshire Disability Squad
Matiullah Haidar - Cricket for Change, Surrey
Carl Tupper - West Wittering Cricket Club, Sussex

Outstanding Service to Disability Cricket Award
Winner to be announced at event only

Paying tribute to the nominees, Mike Gatting, MD Cricket Partnerships, said: “Volunteers are the lifeblood of our game. The candidates shortlisted today all play a vital role in ensuring that our grassroots game can continue to flourish and everyone here at the ECB is looking forward to seeing these people rewarded.”

Chris Long, Senior Manager - Sponsorship, UK Retail at NatWest said: “We’re very proud to have supported the NatWest OSCAs since they began, it is such a great way to end the season and recognise the game’s volunteers. The shortlisted nominees are all worthy recipients who all play an extremely important role in both community cricket as a whole and in their individual clubs. We look forward to celebrating with them when we reveal the national winners in October.”

Watch our video from the 2011 NatWest OSCAs ceremony at Lord's