OSCA winners lauded at Lord's

Oscas 250

ECBtv was at the NatWest OSCAs - click above to watch the video

The 2009 NatWest OSCAs which was held at Lord's earlier this week saw seven different category winners acknowledged for their outstanding volunteer contribution to cricket in England and Wales.

The annual event is designed to recognise those who generously give up their time to ensure cricket clubs run smoothly across the land.

England batsman Alastair Cook presented the awards while ECB Chief Executive David Collier praised the efforts of every volunteer around the country.

Richard Taylor, NatWest Brand Director said: “NatWest OSCAs give us the opportunity to recognise the huge contribution volunteering plays in strengthening cricket and local communities across the country. The hard work and commitment of volunteers is invaluable and we are extremely proud to be associated with the development of the sport at grassroots level.”

Guest speaker was Test Match Special commentator Vic Marks who entertained a packed Nursery Pavilion and messages of support and thanks were sent from England captain, Andrew Strauss and England Women's captain Charlotte Edwards.

Andrew Strauss said: "A strong England team and a flourishing grass-roots game go hand in hand. You all have a vital role to play in nurturing the next generation of England cricketers and I want you to know that everyone in the current England team fully appreciates the importance of what you do.

Charlotte Edwards said: “I wouldn’t be where I am today if it wasn’t for volunteers. When I first started playing, the coaches who gave up their time to give me the chance to play are behind my successes. It’s not just the coaches and managers that are important, but the umpires scorers and tea ladies, that generously donate their time to the game. Without these people cricket, especially the women’s game, would not be as successful as it is today.”

The winners were:

Behind the Scenes Paul Fletcher (Leicestershire) and Nazir Ahmed (Yorkshire)

Building Partnerships Mohammed Razaq (Gloucestershire)

Leagues and Boards Ruth Prideaux (Sussex)

Lifetime Achiever Malcolm Pratt (Durham)

NatWest CricketForce Richard Butler (Devon)

Outside the Scorebox David Edwards (Surrey)

Young Volunteer Niall Holmes (Cumbria)