RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

ECB reveals 2011 fixtures

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160


Nottinghamshire will begin the defence of their LV= County Championship title against Hampshire on Thursday 14 April

The ECB today announced the fixtures for the 2011 county season.

The first round of LV= County Championship matches starts on Friday 8 April with the last round scheduled to commence on Monday 12 September.

Current Division One champions Nottinghamshire will travel to Abu Dhabi for the traditional season curtain-raiser against the MCC before beginning the defence of their title at Trent Bridge when they face Hampshire from Thursday 14 April.

The Clydesdale Bank 40, the first of the limited-overs competitions, begins on Sunday 24 April with 16 of the 21 teams in action on the opening day.

The competition format sees the 18 first-class counties joined by Scotland, the Netherlands and the Unicorns.

The teams have been split into three groups of seven and will play every other side in their group home and away with the three group winners and the best second-placed side contesting the semi-finals on Sunday 4 September.

The final marks the end of the 2011 season and will be played on Saturday 17 September at Lord's with play scheduled to start at 11.30am.

The domestic Twenty20 competition, the Friends Provident t20, involves the 18 first-class counties divided into two geographical groups.


The 2011 season will finish on September 17 at Lord's with the Clydesdale Bank 40 final, this year won by Warwickshire

The competition begins on Wednesday 1 June with a rematch of the 2010 final when current champions Hampshire Royals take on Somerset at the Rose Bowl.

This year almost 70% of matches will be played on Friday, Saturday or Sunday.

The top four teams in each group will compete in the quarter-finals scheduled to take place from August 6-8 with the four winners earning a place in finals day, which will be at Edgbaston on Saturday 27 August with the first semi-final scheduled to begin at 11am.

There will also be over 70 days of international cricket throughout the season with Sri Lanka, India, Sri Lanka A, Australia women, New Zealand women, India women and South Africa Under-19s all touring.

This begins in May when England Lions face Sri Lanka in Derby and ending on Friday 16 September when England face India in the final one-day international of the five-match NatWest Series at the SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff.

There will be numerous opportunities to watch international women's cricket next summer with England women hosting a quadrangular Twenty20 and ODI series involving Australia women, India women and New Zealand women throughout June and July.

A full list of fixtures is available at Fixtures 2011 (110 KB)

Hampshire Royals

Friends Provident t20 champions Hampshire will defend their title in 2011