RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Changes to 2010 rules and regulations

NatWest International T20

Following an ECB Board meeting, the following changes have been made to the rules and regulations for the 2010 season.

Balls - the following will be used

npower Tests: Dukes
LV= County Championship Division One: Dukes
LV= County Championship Division Two: Tiflex
MCCUC & university v county matches: Tiflex
MCC v champion county: Dukes
NatWest Twenty20 international: White Kookaburra
NatWest one-day internationals: White Kookaburra
ECB 40 League: White Kookaburra
Friends Provident t20: White Kookaburra
Second XI Championship: any BSI licensed ball
Second XI one-day competitions: White Kookaburra

LV= County Championship - points system and pitches

A working group has been established to consider the LV= County Championship points system and report recommendations back to the ECB Board in December.

Floodlights and wind

If extreme strong wind is forecast that would preclude the use of mobile lights, the available overs in natural light will be split evenly between the two innings.

Second XI programme

The Second XI Championship will be split into two groups of 10 (north/south) as per 2009. The winners of each group will compete in the final. The format will be three day matches with a four-day Final .

The Second XI Trophy will be split into two groups of 10 (north/south) with the winners and runners-up in each group progressing to the semi-finals. The competition will be played as a 50-over format.

A 40-over two-innings competition will be played in 2010 as a knock-out competition with all 18 first-class counties involved. Further information on the exact trial format and playing conditions will be confirmed in due course.

ECB 40 League

Powerplays in the 40-over competition will mirror the ICC on a pro rata basis - that is eight overs for the first powerplay followed by two blocks of powerplay overs of four overs each.

Hours of play for the ECB 40 League will remain as per the 2009 NatWest Pro40 except for an extra five minutes added to the interval. Hours would typically be 1.45pm to 7.30pm for daytime matches and 4.40pm to 10.25pm for floodlit matches.

The equivalent competition for the 2009 Friends Provident Trophy has been determined as the 40-over competition in 2010 - ECB 40 League. Therefore the points penalty that Glamorgan attracted in 2009 in the Friends Provident Trophy will be carried forward to the 2010 40-over competition.

Player registration issues

A review of the issues relating to the registration and movement of cricketers is currently under way with a working group presenting findings to the December board meeting. More information will be available in due course.

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move