RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Cockspur Cup set for exciting climax

ECB National Club T20

Cockspur Club Twenty20

The Cockspur Cup reaches its climax on Thursday, with both semi-finals and the final being broadcast live on Sky Sports 3

The national Cockspur Club Twenty20 finals day will be hosted at the Rose Bowl on Thursday, September 23, with Wimbledon, Swardeston, Bootle and South Northumberland battling for glory.

The day represents the showcase event of the ECB recreational calendar with both semi-finals and the final being broadcast live on Sky Sports 3.

Wimbledon, from the Surrey Championship will take on the East Anglian Premier League team Swardeston in the first semi-final.

The second match will see national final first-timers Bootle, from the Liverpool league, compete with 2008 champions South Northumberland, who are chasing an historic double victory after claiming the 45-over National Club Championship last week.

The competition will culminate with the two finalists battling it out to be crowned 2010 Cockspur Club Twenty20 Champions and go forward to compete against professional cricketers in the Tempus Travel Pro-Am in Barbados in October, courtesy of the Barbados Tourism Authority.

This year’s Cockspur Club Twenty20 competition was bigger than ever with three new leagues – North Yorkshire-South Durham, Central Yorkshire and South Yorkshire.

As non-ECB Premier Leagues continue to sign up, the competition is set to grow further in 2011.

Finals day schedule, Thursday, September 23

1235: Semi-final 1, Wimbledon v Swardeston

1535: Semi-final 2, Bootle v South Northumberland

1900: Final