Durham host 2013 Ashes Test


Durham's picturesque Riverside ground will stage its first Ashes Test match in the summer of 2013

Durham have been awarded the first Ashes Test match to be staged at the Riverside in 2013 after the England and Wales Cricket Board accepted the recommendation of the independent Major Match Group.

The MMG, chaired by Lord Morris of Handsworth, also confirmed an Ashes Test match at the Brit Oval for 2013 as a part of their long term staging agreement which leaves three other Ashes Tests on offer that year and bids will be invited to host those matches.

Durham first staged Test match cricket at the Chester-le-Street ground in 2003 and England have won all four Test matches staged there including the npower Test against the West Indies in May. Durham have also been awarded a Test match against Sri Lanka in 2016.

Hampshire's Rose Bowl, already awarded a Test against Sri Lanka in 2011, will host an India Test match in 2014 along with Old Trafford and the Brit Oval. There is one further Test match against India in 2014 available for bidding.

Durham was awarded the Ashes Test under the MMG's new system of awarding Major Match Packages to grounds which do not have long term staging agreements. The reason for the introduction of these packages was to allow grounds to attract finance by demonstrating a 'certainty of supply' of games for the period running from 2012 to 2016 for a fixed fee. This allows venues to develop their facilities to world class status which is a priority of the Board.

Each package consisted of 11 match days while a category B venue would be guaranteed three match days. The packages could include Test matches, One Day Internationals, T20 internationals and/or domestic twenty20 finals day.

Each venue also had to provide a submission document which outlined what added value they would bring to the event in terms of environment. social inclusion, legacy and innovation among others. Venues were asked to state their preference of the packages on offer.

There are still matches open to bid and these include three Ashes Tests in 2013 and 2016 as well as five ODIs against Australia in 2012, three in 2013 and four in 2016. There is also one Test against India in 2011 and the neutral Test matches between Pakistan and Australia next year.

The allocations are (not in match order):


Bangladesh Tests: Headingley Carnegie

Bangladesh ODIs: Bristol, Edgbaston, Trent Bridge

Pakistan Tests: Edgbaston, Lord's, The Brit Oval and Trent Bridge

Pakistan ODIs: Durham, Headingley Carnegie, Lord's, Rose Bowl, The Brit Oval

Australia ODIs: Cardiff, Old Trafford, Lord's, Rose Bowl, The Brit Oval

Domestic T20 final: Rose Bowl

To allocate: Pakistan v Australia (2 Tests, 2 T20s)

England v Pakistan (2 T20s)


Sri Lanka Tests: Cardiff, Lord's, Rose Bowl

Sri Lanka ODIs: Edgbaston, Headingley Carnegie, Old Trafford, The Brit Oval, Trent Bridge

India Tests: Edgbaston, Lord's, The Brit Oval, Trent Bridge

India ODIs: Cardiff, Durham,Lord's, Rose Bowl, The Brit Oval

Domestic T20 final: Durham

To allocate: T20 v Sri Lanka; T20 v India


West Indies Tests: Edgbaston, Trent Bridge

West Indies ODIs: Cardiff, Headingley Carnegie, The Brit Oval

South Africa Tests: Headingley Carnegie, The Brit Oval

South Africa ODIs: Cardiff, Rose Bowl, Trent Bridge

South Africa T20: Old Trafford

Domestic T20 final: Lord's

To allocate: Test match and 1 T20 v West Indies; 1 Test match v South Africa; 5 ODIs v Australia


New Zealand Tests: Headingley Carnegie, Lord's

New Zealand ODIs: Rose Bowl, The Brit Oval

Australia Tests: Durham, The Brit Oval

Australia ODI: Cardiff, Edgbaston, Headingley Carnegie, Rose Bowl

Australia T20: Trent Bridge x 2

To allocate: 3 Test matches and 3 ODIs v Australia; domestic T20 finals day.


Sri Lanka Tests: Cardiff, Headingley Carnegie

Sri Lanka ODIs: The Brit Oval

Sri Lanka T20: Rose Bowl

India Tests: Old Trafford, Rose Bowl, The Brit Oval

India ODIs: Cardiff, Edgbaston, Headingley, Trent Bridge

Domestic Twenty20 final: Edgbaston

To allocate: 1 ODI v Sri Lanka; 1 Test, 3 ODIs and 1 T20 v India.


New Zealand Tests: Headingley Carnegie

New Zealand ODIs: Cardiff, Edgbaston, The Brit Oval

Pakistan Tests: Old Trafford, The Brit Oval

Pakistan ODIs Edgbaston, Headingley Carnegie, Rose Bowl, Trent Bridge

Domestic Twenty20 finals: Durham

To allocate: 2 Test matches, 2 ODIs and 1 T20 v NZ; 1 T20 v Pakistan


Sri Lanka Tests: Durham

Sri Lanka ODIs: Rose Bowl, The Brit Oval

Australia Tests:Lord's, The Oval

Australia T20: Cardiff , Trent Bridge

Domestic T20 finals: Edgbaston

To allocate:1 ODI v Sri Lanka; 3 Tests, 4 ODIs v Australia

These awards are subject to the confirmation of the ICC Future Tours Programme