RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

ECB reveals Performance Squad

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Michael Lumb

Michael Lumb, who impressed for England Lions in the United Arab Emirates, is the only uncapped player in this summer's EPS

The ECB has today announced a 27-man England Performance Squad for this summer’s international season.

The EPS, which has been chosen by the England selectors, consists of 11 players currently on 12-month ECB central contracts plus seven on ECB increment contracts.

Hampshire's Michael Lumb, who is a member of England's ICC World Twenty20 squad, is the only player not capped by England at international level.

ECB national selector Geoff Miller said: “The England Performance Squad is designed to allow the selectors to monitor the development of international players and better prepare them for the demands of the international game.

“The selectors can name up to 30 players in the EPS, but we have decided to keep three places vacant at present in order to give ourselves greater flexibility and we will reserve the right to add further players to the squad if their performances in domestic cricket merit it.

“We were delighted with the progress made by several younger players such as Craig Kieswetter, Steven Finn and Ajmal Shahzad over the winter with either the England team or the England Lions squad and their selections in the EPS reflect this.

“James Tredwell and Michael Carberry have previously experienced the England set-up after making an impact at international level during the winter, and similarly Joe Denly and Liam Plunkett firmly remain in our plans over the course of the summer.

“From a limited-overs perspective Michael Lumb and Michael Yardy have already been included in England's ICC World T20 squad for the forthcoming tournament in the Caribbean."

England Performance Squad 2010

James Anderson (Lancashire) *
Ian Bell (Warwickshire) *
Ravi Bopara (Essex) +
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire) +
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) *
Michael Carberry (Hampshire)
Paul Collingwood (Durham) *
Alastair Cook (Essex) *
Joe Denly (Kent)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Michael Lumb (Hampshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) +
Graham Onions (Durham) *
Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire) *
Liam Plunkett (Durham)
Matt Prior (Sussex) *
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire) +
Owais Shah (Middlesex) +
Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
Andrew Strauss (Middlesex) *
Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire) *
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire) *
James Tredwell (Kent)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire) +
Luke Wright (Sussex) +
Michael Yardy (Sussex)

* denotes 11 players on 12-month ECB central contracts
+ denotes seven players on ECB increment contracts

National Cricket Performance Centre

National Cricket Performance Centre

The state-of-the-art facility is much more than just a training centre for the England Performance Programme players as it provides an all-year-round facility to benefit cricket as a whole