RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

ECB spin match

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160
Adil Rashid

Adil Rashid is set to play in the match © Getty Images

The first ECB spin match will be conducted at the County Ground, Derbyshire, on Sunday, September 3 and Monday, September 4 under the guidance of ECB spin bowling coach David Parsons, featuring the best young spinners in the country.

The two-day programme starts at 10.30am on September 3 with several of the country’s top young cricketers set to tackle a range of match-based scenarios designed to test and develop some of the most promising spin bowlers in the first-class system.

Parsons will provide coaching over the two-day programme as well as being assisted by injured England spin bowler Ashley Giles along with former England spinner John Childs.

Andy Flower (batting) and Paul Farbrace (wicket-keeping) will also provide coaching in conjunction with ECB National Academy Director Peter Moores and England Under-17 coach John Abrahams.

Parsons said: “This unique programme is specifically geared towards spin bowling with no seam bowlers involved.

“It has been devised to help develop an enhanced understanding of the tactical considerations associated with various aspects of spin bowling.

“The programme is based around several scenarios over the two days that simulate match-based situations in an attempt to create a realistic environment for bowlers, batsman and wicket-keepers alike.

“This is the first time a programme of this nature has been staged and we expect to take a great deal of player profiling from the event which will in turn assist our ongoing spin bowling programs on a county level and within the ECB’s National Academy.”


Batsmen - Joe Denley (Kent), Sam Northeast (Kent), Billy Godleman (Middlesex), Varun Chopra (Essex), Rory Hamilton-Brown (Surrey), Alex Wakely (Northamptonshire), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Ben Wright (Glamorgan), Michael O’Shea (Glamorgan), Mark Nelson (Northamptonshire)

Wicket-keepers - Tom New (Leicester), Greg Wood (Yorkshire), Josh Knappett (Worcestershire)

Spinners - Graeme White (Northamptonshire), Ollie Rayner (Sussex), Shaftab Khalid (Worcestershire), Sachin Vaja (No County), Jigar Naik (Leicestershire), Simon King (Surrey), Michael Munday (Somerset), Simon Marshall (Lancashire), Tom Winslade (Surrey), Chris Morgan (Hampshire), Moneeb Iqbal (Durham), Vikram Banerjee (Gloucestershire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Arul Suppiah (Somerset)