RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Taylor and Edwards contest ICC gong

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Charlotte Edwards & Claire Taylor

Charlotte Edwards and Claire Taylor enjoy World Twenty20 success - yet only one can win the ICC's prestigious award

For the second time in as many years, England women’s cricketers Claire Taylor and Charlotte Edwards go head to head in the final shortlist of nominations for the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

The winner will be announced on October 1 in Johannesburg.

Edwards, the winner of the award in 2008, captained the England squad to victory in the World Cup, the World Twenty20, the Ashes and the NatWest Series against Australia this year, making England the best in the world in all formats.

At the time, Edwards was the youngest player to represent England, aged 16, and has continued to go from strength to strength in the sport.

She took over the captaincy from Clare Connor in 2006 and in 2008 she led the team to a record number of 17 wins in a row.

Her loyalty is not just evident with the international side, but also when she captains her county side, Kent. This year Kent became the LV= County Championship winners for the third time in four years, unbeaten in all 10 matches.

Her dedication and commitment to her team and country is second to none and has been one of the main drivers for the success of this England team. It has also led to her being awarded the MBE for her services to cricket, on the Queen’s Birthday Honours list this summer.

Taylor has been a key player within the England team for 11 years and her ever-increasing tally of runs shows no sign of slowing down.

Her 101 against Sri Lanka in the World Cup, her highest score for England this season, is one of many outstanding performances.

She passed 50 twice in four innings during the World Cup, and was not out three times.

Her innings against Australia in the semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20, 76 not out off 53 balls, was deemed to be one of the standout performances of both the men’s and women’s events.

In the final of the ICC World Twenty20 it was fitting that Taylor hit the winning runs against New Zealand at Lord’s.

In March Taylor was voted player of the tournament at the World Cup and three months later received the same award at the World Twenty20.

However, her most prestigious award to date was being named as one of Wisden’s five Cricketers of the Year, the first time that Wisden awarded the accolade to a female in its 146-year history.