RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

England women to welcome Australia

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

England women will play one Ashes Test match, a NatWest Women’s Series and a NatWest Women’s International T20 Series against Australia next summer.

The Ashes Test match, from 13-16 August at Wormsley Cricket Ground, will be the first opportunity for England to reclaim the women’s Ashes after relinquishing them in Bankstown, Sydney, in 2011 having previously held the trophy since 2005.

Following the Test, England will kick off their three-match NatWest Women’s Series at Lord’s on 20 August, with the second and third one-day internationals hosted at the PROBIZ ground, Hove on 23 and 25 August.

Charlotte Edwards

England women will meet Australia next summer with the teams playing one Test, three ODIs and three Twenty20s

The summer will culminate in a three-match NatWest Women’s International T20 Series, with the first game scheduled to be played under lights at Chelmsford on 27 August.

The second and third International Twenty20s will be played directly before England men take on Australia at the Ageas Bowl, Southampton, and The Emirates Durham ICG, on the 29 and 31 August respectively.

Head of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: “We are delighted to be hosting the Australia women’s team during the much-anticipated Ashes summer.

"From recent bi-lateral series and the encounter between the two teams at the ICC World Twenty20 final in Colombo, England and Australia are leading the way in the women’s game with consistently high quality performances.

"A summer comprising all three formats of the game will be certain to provide an entertaining and hard-fought few weeks of international women’s cricket.”

England Women v Australia schedule 2013

13-16 August Test Match - Wormsley Cricket Ground, Buckinghamshire

NatWest Women’s Series

20 August 1st ODI - Lord's
23 August 2nd ODI - The PROBIZ Ground, Hove
25 August 3rd ODI - The PROBIZ Ground, Hove

NatWest Women’s International T20 Series
27 August 1st T20I - The Ford County Ground, Chelmsford
29 August 2nd T20I - Ageas Bowl, Southampton
31 August 3rd T20I ' Emirates Durham ICG