RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Lions squad for tri-series named

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Darren Stevens

Darren Stevens' outstanding form for Kent this year has been rewarded with a call-up to the England Lions squad for the triangular series

The England selectors today announced a 12-man England Lions squad captained by Alastair Cook to face India A and West Indies A in a triangular one-day series from June 28 to July 8.

ECB national selector Geoff Miller said: “This triangular series presents the England Lions squad with an excellent opportunity to demonstrate their abilities in the one-day format and challenge for a place in the senior side.

“Alastair Cook will have an opportunity to gain further experience as captain after successful spells as captain with both England and England Lions and he will lead a side that includes six of the squad members involved in the one-day series against Pakistan A in February.

“We are pleased to welcome Darren Stevens to the squad who has been rewarded for his impressive form with Kent this season.

“We have selected a strong squad for what will be a challenging series.

"There is scope for non-playing Lions squad members to return to their counties for fixtures when appropriate and we will also consider using non playing members of the England one-day squad throughout the Lions series to give them match practice.”

England Lions squad

Alastair Cook (captain, Essex)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Steven Davies (Surrey)
Andrew Gale (Yorkshire)
Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire)
Liam Plunkett (Durham)
Darren Stevens (Kent)
James Taylor (Leicestershire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Peter Trego (Somerset)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)


Monday 28 June: India A v West Indies A, Northampton
Tuesday 29 June: England Lions v West Indies A, Northampton
Thursday 1 July: England Lions v India A, Leicester
Friday 2 July: India A vs West Indies A, Leicester
Sunday 4 July: England Lions vs West Indies A, Worcester
Tuesday 6 July: England Lions vs India A, Worcester
Thursday 8 July: Final, Worcester