England management take top award

Australia Follow Us

Hugh Morris, Andrew Strauss & Andy Flower

Hugh Morris, Andrew Strauss and Andy Flower show off the Leadership in Sport Award at the 2011 Sports Industry Awards

Andy Flower, Andrew Strauss and Hugh Morris, the management trio that led the England team to their first Ashes series triumph on foreign soil in 24 years, have been honoured with the Leadership in Sport Award at the Sport Industry Awards 2011 ceremony on May 11, the 10th anniversary of the prestigious event.

The trio were presented with their award at Battersea Evolution, London, in front of a packed room of 1,700 industry executives and sporting celebrities by Sir Clive Woodward, a man who also mounted the summit of elite sport in Australia when he led England to victory at the Rugby World Cup in 2003.

The award is recognition of the leadership the trio have shown in developing the England team over the last 12 months.

In that time they have successfully created a winning mentality that is based around a philosophy of continuous improvement and by instilling a culture that ensures all decisions, both on and off the field, are made in the best interests of the team.

Over the last two years England have risen to second in the ICC Test rankings, winning two Ashes series and a global International Cricket Council tournament in the shape of the World Twenty20. Success against India this summer could see the team become the best Test team in world cricket.

In accepting the prestigious award, England Test captain Strauss commented: “I know I speak for both Andy and Hugh when I say we are honoured to receive this award.

“It has been a fantastic couple of years and in that time we have been very fortunate to be able to share a dressing room with a collection of extremely talented and dedicated cricketers who are committed to becoming the best team possible.

“We are by no means the finished product and I am extremely excited by the opportunities that lie ahead for us as we prepare for what promises to be one of the best summers of cricket we have seen in England in many years.”

Previous winners of the Leadership in Sport Award have included F1 team leaders Ross Brawn and Nick Fry (2010), GB Cycling team director David Brailsford (2009), and chair of UK Sport Sue Campbell (2008).

For more information on the Sport Industry Awards, visit www.sportindustry.biz.