Five new faces in EPS

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Keep tabs on the England team - click here for all the breaking news from the camp, exclusive interviews, match reports and much more

The ECB has announced a 26-man England Performance Squad for the 2012 international summer season.

The England Performance Squad, which is chosen by the England selectors, consists of the 13 centrally contracted players, four players who have been awarded incremental contracts and nine other players who have all been capped at senior international level.

Five players - Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Danny Briggs, Stuart Meaker and Ben Stokes - are included in the England Performance Squad for the first time.

ECB national selector Geoff Miller said: “We welcome the five new players to the squad and their inclusion reflects the progress they have all made with senior England teams and the England Lions over the last 12 months.

“The England Performance Squad is designed to allow the selectors to monitor the development of international players and better prepare them for the demands of the international game.

“We can name a total of 30 players in the EPS squad but have decided to name only 26 at this early stage of the season. We will keep this under review and may add additional players to the squad should individual performances merit it later in the summer.”

England Performance Squad 2012

Jonny Bairstow

Jonny Bairstow is one of five new faces in a 26-man England Performance Squad announced by the ECB for the 2012 international summer

Andrew Strauss (Middlesex) Test captain
Alastair Cook (Essex) One-day captain
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) Twenty20 captain
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Jos Buttler (Somerset)
Steven Davies (Surrey)
Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
Graham Onions (Durham)
Monty Panesar (Sussex)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

Twelve-month central contracts for 2011-12: James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Andrew Strauss, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett and Jonathan Trott.

Incremental contracts for 2011-2012: Ravi Bopara, Jade Dernbach, Craig Kieswetter, Samit Patel.