RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Kieswetter wins World Twenty20 call

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Craig Kieswetter

Craig Kieswetter has been rewarded for his impressive one-day form with a place in England's ICC World Twenty20 squad

The ECB today named the final England men's and women's squads for the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20 to be held in the Caribbean from April 30.

The England men's final squad of 15 players includes uncapped Hampshire batsman Michael Lumb and Somerset's Craig Kieswetter, while Ravi Bopara and Michael Yardy have been recalled to the national team.

The England women's squad welcomes back Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin as they look to defend their ICC World Twenty20 crown.

Commenting on the England men’s squad, Geoff Miller, England national selector, said: “We believe we’ve picked a balanced squad that can meet the needs of the Twenty20 format - aggressive batting with variation and strength in depth and various bowling options that accommodate the conditions and surfaces in the West Indies.

“Our fielding, which is such a vital aspect of limited-overs cricket, has improved markedly and there's no reason we can't perform well in what will be a challenging global tournament.

“On the recent tour of Bangladesh Craig Kieswetter showed what he is capable of in international limited-overs cricket and as a wicketkeeper at the top of the order he gives us options down the order.

“Craig has improved over time and his selection indicates real competition for places which is only healthy for the England team.

“Despite missing selection for this format of the game, Matt Prior very much remains in the England set-up and a part of our plans.

“Michael Lumb has consistently performed well in limited-overs cricket for Hampshire and has also impressed during his time in the IPL and with the England Lions.

“As a powerful left-hander Michael adds aggression to our batting and has the ability to compliment the rest of the line-up.

“Michael Yardy has also performed at a consistently high level for his county, Sussex, in limited-overs cricket and knows his game inside and out.

Ravi Bopara

Ravi Bopara is recalled for the first time since the Champions Trophy following on from success in the Indian Premier League

“Both Michael and Ravi Bopara have earned recalls to the England squad after going away and working hard on their cricket with excellent results.”

Commenting on the England women's squad, Clare Connor, head of England women’s cricket, said: “We believe we have selected a squad of players with the necessary skills to retain the ICC World Twenty20.

“Whilst this will be no easy feat given the strength of our group (Australia, West Indies and South Africa), the Twenty20 series win in India in February has prepared the squad well for the challenge.

“In order to make way for the return of Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin, who missed the India tour due to other commitments, the selectors have had to make some tough decisions.

“Young Academy graduates Heather Knight, Danielle Wyatt and Danielle Hazell all seized their opportunities in India and, as such, have retained their places in the squad.

“A couple of senior players have missed out on selection but the door remains open to them with a huge summer ahead against New Zealand in July.

“It is exactly this sort of competition for places that we are always striving for. We wish Charlotte Edwards and her squad every success in their bid to retain their ICC World Twenty20 champion status.”

England men's ICC World T20 squad

Paul Collingwood (captain, Durham)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Craig Kieswetter (wicketkeeper, Somerset)
Michael Lumb (Hampshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Luke Wright (Sussex)
Michael Yardy (Sussex)

England women's ICC World T20 squad

Charlotte Edwards (captain, Kent)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Holly Colvin (Sussex)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)
Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
Heather Knight (Berkshire)
Laura Marsh (Sussex)
Beth Morgan (Middlesex)
Nicky Shaw (Surrey)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Claire Taylor (Berkshire)
Sarah Taylor (wicketkeeper, Sussex)
Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)

The ICC World Twenty20 commences on Friday April 30 in Guyana with the final to be played on Sunday May 16 in Barbados .

The England men's team are in Group D alongside West Indies and Ireland, with its first group match against hosts West Indies in Guyana on Monday May 3 (13.30 local time).

The England women's team are in Group A alongside Australia, West Indies and South Africa, with its first group match against Australia in St Kitts on Wednesday May 5 (14.00 local time).


The new Brit Insurance 2010-11 official England Cricket Team kit will be available to pre order from April 1 via, and in store from April 29