RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Bairstow earns maiden Test call

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Follow the Investec Test series on - click here for all the latest news, exclusive interviews, video highlights and match reports

The England selectors today named a 13-man squad for Thursday's first Investec Test against West Indies at Lord’s.

Jonny Bairstow is the only player uncapped at Test level included in the party. The 22-year-old Yorkshire batsman, who has a first-class average of 46.37, has played six one-day internationals, making his debut against India in September 2011, and the same amount of Twenty20s for his country.

Durham paceman Graham Onions is the only other member of the squad who did not play a Test last winter and is one of five seamers picked.

National selector Geoff Miller said: “This is an important period for us following a challenging winter where we learnt some valuable lessons and we are preparing for a highly competitive series against a West Indies side full of quality players.

“We have selected a very strong 13-man squad which allows us to consider a number of options before making a decision about Thursday’s side. We have included five seam bowlers who have all demonstrated that they are capable of winning Test matches for England.

“Jonny Bairstow has put in a number of impressive performances both for England Lions and Yorkshire and has been working hard on the England Performance Programme over the last couple of years. He is an exciting young player who now has an opportunity to experience the Test environment.”

Denesh Ramdin & Jonny Bairstow

Yorkshire's Jonny Bairstow has received his maiden England Test call-up for the Investec series opener against West Indies at Lord's

England Test squad against West Indies:

Andrew Strauss (Captain, Middlesex)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Alastair Cook (Essex)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Graham Onions (Durham)
Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

Keep tabs on the England team - click here for all the breaking news from the camp, exclusive interviews, match reports and much more