England unveil limited-overs squads

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Follow the NatWest Series on ecb.co.uk - click here for live scores, exclusive interviews, breaking news, features, match reports and photo galleries

The England selectors today announced squads for the five-match NatWest ODI Series and three-match NatWest International T20 Series against South Africa.

The NatWest ODI Series commences Friday August 24 at the SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff.

All players in the 14-man ODI squad were involved in the recent series victories against West Indies and Australia.

The 15-man T20 squad will contest the three-match series with South Africa as well as the ICC World T20 next month in Sri Lanka.

All players have already been capped for England, with Luke Wright and Michael Lumb both returning to the squad for the first time since June 2011.

National Selector Geoff Miller said: “All players in the 14-man NatWest ODI Series squad were involved in the recent series victory against Australia. We will be looking for this side to build on the recent success we have had and to show further signs of improvement against a strong South Africa side.


Every player in England's 14-man squad to face South Africa played in the recent NatWest Series against West Indies and Australia

“Stuart Broad has an important period coming up leading our T20 side and with a three-match series followed closely by the ICC World T20 we feel a two-week break from cricket is in the best interests of both Stuart and the team.

“Kevin Pietersen’s future involvement is still being determined and he was therefore not considered for selection in either squad.

“We are grateful to both Essex and Gloucestershire for agreeing to allow Ravi Bopara to play for the latter against South Africa on Wednesday.

“Ravi has had some time away from the game and we feel that he will benefit from some extra cricket ahead of the start of the NatWest Series, and with no games for Essex before we begin our preparations for the first match this is an ideal opportunity for him.

“The T20 squad mirrors the squad we have selected for the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka and the three-match NatWest series provides this group of players with valuable preparation in what will be a highly competitive series ahead of the tournament starting in September.”

England NatWest ODI Series squad:

Michael Lumb

Michael Lumb, pictured, and Luke Wright return to England's squad for the T20s with South Africa for the first time since 2010

Alastair Cook (Essex, captain)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow(Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

NatWest International T20 squad:

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire, captain)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Jos Buttler (Somerset)
Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Luke Wright (Sussex)


1st ODI - August 24 - SWALEC Stadium - 10:15am
2nd ODI - August 28 - Ageas Bowl - 1pm
3rd ODI - August 31 - Kia Oval - 1pm
4th ODI - September 2 - Lord’s - 10:15am
5th ODI - September 5 - Trent Bridge - 1pm
1st T20 - September 8 - Emirates Durham ICG - 2.30pm
2nd T20 - September 10 - Old Trafford - 6:30pm
3rd T20 - September 12 - Edgbaston - 6:30pm

Follow England in the NatWest Twenty20 international - click here for exclusive interviews, breaking news, features, live scores and match reports