RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Foster and Key recalled by England

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Geoff Miller spoke to ECBtv at Lord's after naming England's squads

Essex wicketkeeper James Foster and Kent captain Rob Key have been named in the England 15 to play in the ICC World Twenty20, while England’s women have chosen a 14-strong squad from the one which won the ICC Women’s World Cup in Australia in March.

The England men’s team will be led by Paul Collingwood, who captained the side in the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 held in South Africa in September 2007. Charlotte Edwards captains the women’s team.

Key, 29, last played for England in 2005, while you have to go back to Melbourne in 2002 to find the last time that Foster, 29, was involved in an England team.

There is a first full international call-up for Foster’s Essex team-mate Graham Napier. Previously the closest the 29-year-old came to an England selection was when he was named in the 30-man squad for the 2004 Champions Trophy.

Eoin Morgan, the Middlesex left-hander, has also been called up to the 15-man party after declaring his desire to represent England in the future.

Andrew Flintoff is included in the squad, but the selectors will continue to monitor his rehabilitation following recent knee surgery.

National selector Geoff Miller said: “We have picked Andrew but we will keep in constant touch with him and the medical team during his rehabilitation.

“He is passionate about playing in this event but he will only play in the ICC World Twenty20 if he is fully recovered.

James Foster

Essex's James Foster will keep wicket for England during the ICC World Twenty20

“He will be doing all he can to get fit, but he will not be risked if there is any doubt about his fitness.”

Miller told ECBtv: “Paul is looking forward to captaining this squad. I talked to him yesterday. He was very excited about it and obviously he’s got great captaincy material and I’m very sure he’ll do a very good job.

“I talked to him in the West Indies about and he needed a bit of thought obviously because he had given up the captaincy at one stage, but we know what his credentials are. I know what he’s capable of doing and this is a global tournament in England which he’s looking forward to.”

Miller added: “It’s a good squad. It’s exciting. It’s a mix. It’s a good mix of seniority, of experienced international players and youthful exuberance.

“It is a good squad, an exciting squad, but they’ll have to play very well because there are some exciting squads to play against.”

Collingwood said: “I am really excited about captaining this squad for the ICC World Twenty20 especially as it will be in front of our own fans here in England.

“At the end of the recent Caribbean tour it was well known that I wanted some time to think it over, but now I am looking forward to the tournament.

“We have a talented squad with some new faces and there is the added incentive for everyone of a Lord’s final.”

England women’s captain Edwards added: “This tournament gives a real chance for women’s cricket to attract millions of new followers and players across the world.

“We enjoyed our World Cup success but now everyone is firmly focussed on this event and the prospect of appearing on the same stage as the men at the semi-final and, hopefully, final stage.”

Edwards will lead the same group of players that won the World Cup, with the exception of Cheshire’s Lauren Griffiths.

The men’s event will be played at Lord’s – starting on June 5 with England taking on Netherlands – The Oval and Trent Bridge, with the women’s group stages at taunton before they move to Trent Bridge and The Oval for the semi-finals and then Lord’s for the June 21.

England squad:

  • Paul Collingwood, captain (Durham)
  • James Anderson (Lancashire)
  • Ravi Bopara (Essex)
  • Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
  • Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)
  • James Foster (Essex)
  • Robert Key (Kent)
  • Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)
  • Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
  • Graham Napier (Essex)
  • Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
  • Owais Shah (Middlesex)
  • Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
  • Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
  • Luke Wright (Sussex)

England women’s squad:

  • Charlotte Edwards, captain
  • Caroline Atkins
  • Katherine Brunt
  • Holly Colvin
  • Isa Guha
  • Jenny Gunn
  • Lydia Greenway
  • Beth Morgan
  • Nicky Shaw
  • Anya Shrubsole
  • Laura Marsh
  • Ebony Rainford-Brent
  • Claire Taylor
  • Sarah Taylor