RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

England women's squad to tour India

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Holly Colvin

England are shorn of the services of key spinner Holly Colvin, who is unable to tour due to commitments at Durham University

The England women's selectors have named a 15-strong squad to tour India from February 15 to March 9.

Led by Charlotte Edwards, the squad will play five one-day internationals and three Twenty20 matches.

Danielle Wyatt, an 18-year-old from Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, has been selected for what will be her debut tour.

The promising off-spinner, who has previously represented the England Women's Academy, has been called up to replace Holly Colvin who is currently studying Natural Sciences at Durham University and is unable to tour because of her academic commitments.

Claire Taylor, who is taking a six-month break from international cricket, is also unavailable for selection but will be resuming training in February in preparation for the ICC World Twenty20 in April.

Clare Connor, ECB head of women's cricket, said: “The team has had an outstanding year in 2009 but attentions have already turned to what will be a challenging year in 2010.

“The tour to India will be a real test for the squad and without Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin there are opportunities for other squad members to stake a claim for a place in the side and prove that they are match winners ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in April and the series against New Zealand this summer.

“It is a demanding place to play cricket and the fact that no squad member has ever won a series in India proves just what a challenge the three weeks will be.

“The girls will be determined to change their losing record in India and come back with wins in both the one-day and Twenty20 series.”

England women’s squad

Charlotte Edwards (captain, Kent)
Caroline Atkins (Sussex)
Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Isa Guha (Berkshire)
Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)
Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
Laura Marsh (Sussex)
Beth Morgan (Middlesex)
Ebony Rainford-Brent (Surrey)
Nicky Shaw (Surrey)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)


February 15: England squad arrive in Bangalore
February 17: warm-up match against KSCA XI, M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
February 19: 1st ODI, M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
February 22: 2nd ODI, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad
February 24: 3rd ODI, Rajiv Gandhi Stadium, Hyderabad
February 27: 4th ODI, Visakhapatnam
March 1: 5th ODI, Visakhapatnam
March 5: 1st Twenty20, D Y Patil Stadium, Mumbai
March 7: 2nd Twenty20, Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai
March 8: 3rd Twenty20, Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai