RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

England reveal World Twenty20 squad

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Steve Finn

Paceman Steven Finn, one of five uncapped players in the 30-man squad, impressed for England Lions in the United Arab Emirates

The England and Wales Cricket Board today named England’s provisional 30-man squad for the forthcoming ICC World Twenty20, to be staged in the Caribbean from April 30 this year.

The squad – which will be halved by March 30 – includes uncapped players Steven Finn (Middlesex), Michael Lumb (Hampshire), Peter Trego (Somerset), David Wainwright (Yorkshire) and Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

National selector Geoff Miller said: “The upcoming ICC World Twenty20 is an exciting tournament and we have selected an exciting crop of players in this provisional squad.

“All players named have shown their ability in the shortest form of the game and the selectors have some difficult decisions to make when reducing the squad to 15 players.

“We have a number of young players knocking on the door which underlines the depth in talent currently available and I know all concerned will be hoping they make the final squad for what is a highly anticipated tournament.”

England 30-man ICC World Twenty20 squad:

Paul Collingwood (Durham, captain)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Steven Davies (Surrey)
Joe Denly (Kent)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Michael Lumb (Hampshire)
Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire)
Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Graham Onions (Durham)
Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
Liam Plunkett (Durham)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Owais Shah (Middlesex)
Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Peter Trego (Somerset)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
David Wainwright (Yorkshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
Luke Wright (Sussex)
Michael Yardy (Sussex)