RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Fogarty scoops groundsman honour

Click here for all the latest news from the domestic cricket scene, including exclusive interviews, team news, match reports and photo galleries

Headingley Carnegie

Andy Fogarty, head groundsman at Headingley Carnegie, has picked up the four-day prize in the 2011 Groundsman of the Year Awards

The England and Wales Cricket Board today confirmed the winners of the 2011 Groundsman of the Year Awards.

Andy Fogarty from Headingley Carnegie is the winner of the four-day category with David Measor of Emirates Durham ICG and Steve Birks of Trent Bridge sharing the runner-up prize.

In the one-day category, the winner is Steve Birks with the runner-up prize awarded to Andy Fogarty.

Commendations went to Keith Exton (SWALEC Stadium), Mick Hunt (Lord’s) and Sean Williams (Bristol) in the four-day pitch category, while Simon Lee (Taunton), Andy Ward (Grace Road) and Stuart Kerrison (Chelmsford) were commended in the one-day category.

Will Relf at Loughborough is the winner for pitches at MCC Universities with John Moden at Fenner's runner-up. Ross Spry at Cheltenham was awarded the outgrounds prize with Terry Glover and Matt Merchant runner-up in respect of their work at Liverpool.

Every pitch is rated at the end of the match by each of the umpires with these ratings used as the basis for making the awards.