RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Gale and O'Shaughnessy promoted

ECB Association of Cricket Officials

Alex Wharf

Former Glamorgan and England bowler Alex Wharf is one of three umpires to have been added to the first-class reserve list for 2011

The England and Wales Cricket Board today announced the appointments of Steve Gale and Steve O’Shaughnessy to the first-class umpires list for 2011 following the retirements of Barry Dudleston and Vanburn Holder last season.

Steve O’Shaughnessy played first-class cricket for Lancashire and Worcestershire between 1980 and 1989, and has been umpiring since 2007.

Speaking about his elevation to the first-class umpires list, O’Shaughnessy said: “I am thrilled to be given this promotion and am looking forward to having the chance to further my career as an ECB official.”

Gale is from Shrewsbury and has spent three seasons on the reserve list after representing Shropshire in minor counties cricket between 1975 and 1987.

ECB umpires manager Chris Kelly said: “We are pleased to welcome both Steve Gale and Steve O’Shaughnessy onto the full list for 2011.

“Their commitment and attitude on the reserve list has been outstanding and their promotion is the result of some exceptional performances in LV= County Championship matches.”

In addition, three new umpires have been added to the first-class reserve list for 2011; Alex Wharf, Billy Taylor and Russell Evans.

Wharf and Taylor retired from first-class cricket at the end of the 2009 season and Evans was contracted by Nottinghamshire between 1985 and 1990.

All three have used recent seasons to demonstrate their umpiring ability and are now presented with further umpiring opportunities.

Kelly added: “We are pleased to welcome Billy, Alex and Russell onto the reserve list for 2011 which maintains the number of umpires available at this level.

"There is now plenty of competition for places on the reserve list and these three have shown that they are in an excellent position to take their officiating forward.”

ECB full list 2011:

Rob Bailey
Neil Bainton
Mark Benson
Martin Bodenham
Nick Cook
Nigel Cowley
Jeff Evans
Steve Gale
Steve Garratt
Michael Gough
Ian Gould
Peter Hartley
Richard Illingworth
Trevor Jesty
Richard Kettleborough
Nigel Llong
Jeremy Lloyds
Neil Mallender
David Millns
Steve O’Shaughnessy
Tim Robinson
George Sharp
John Steele
Peter Willey

ECB reserve list 2011:

Paul Baldwin
Ismail Dawood
Mark Eggleston
Russell Evans
Andy Hicks
Graham Lloyd
Steve Malone
Martin Saggers
Billy Taylor
Alex Wharf