RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Hunt scoops groundsman gong

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Mick Hunt

Mick Hunt finished as runner-up in the 2009 Groundsman of the Year Awards, but claimed the top prize this time around

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today confirmed the 2010 Groundsman of the Year Awards.

Mick Hunt from Lord’s - who finished as last year's runner-up - is the winner of the four-day category with Bill Gordon of the Brit Insurance Oval awarded the runner-up prize.

In the one-day category, the winner is Andy Mackay from Hove with the runner-up prize awarded to Andy Fogarty of Headingley Carnegie.

A commendation went to Paul Marshall (Northampton) in the four-day pitch category, while Steve Rouse (Edgbaston) was commended in the one-day category.

John Moden at Fenners is the winner for pitches at MCC Universities with Will Relf at Loughborough runner-up.

Robbie Thackray at Scarborough was awarded the Outgrounds prize with Adam Shoesmith (Whitgift School) earning the runner-up award.

Three commendations were awarded in the Outgrounds category, to Ross Spry (Cheltenham), Vic Demain (Uxbridge) and Tim Nicholls (Chesterfield).

Every pitch is rated at the end of the match by each of the umpires with these ratings used as the basis for making the awards.