RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

England central contracts announced

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160


Tim Bresnan, Eoin Morgan and Chris Tremlett have been included in a 13-strong list of players who have been awarded central contracts

The England selectors have announced that 13 players have been awarded 12-month central contracts for the period from October 1 2011 to September 30 2012.

They are: James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Andrew Strauss, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett and Jonathan Trott.

Three players - Bresnan, Morgan, and Tremlett - have been elevated to central contracts for the first time while Paul Collingwood has not had his central contract renewed.

Incremental contracts for the forthcoming 12-month period will be finalised in due course.

National selector Geoff Miller said: “I am delighted that Tim Bresnan, Eoin Morgan and Chris Tremlett have all been awarded 12-month central contracts for the first time.

“Central contracts are designed to reward players who perform well consistently for England and all three have made significant contributions to the team’s recent success in retaining the Ashes in Australia and beating Sri Lanka and India at home.

“Following his retirement from Test cricket, Paul Collingwood is no longer eligible for a 12-month central contract.

“We will determine those players eligible for incremental contracts in due course.”

England central contracts

James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Alastair Cook (Essex)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Andrew Strauss (Middlesex)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Tremlett (Surrey)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)