RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

England squads for India T20 and ODI series

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

England selectors today named a 13-man squad for the two-match T20 series against India next month as well as a squad for the five-match ODI series against India in January.

Stuart Broad will lead the T20 side with Surrey pace bowler Stuart Meaker the only player included in the squad not to have played a T20 match for England before. Two members of the 13-man squad were not involved in England's recent ICC World T20 campaign: James Tredwell and Stuart Meaker.

Those players not included in either the England Performance Programme or the England Test squad will join up with the EPP in Pune for a training camp ahead of the T20 series.

The ODI series begins on January 11 in Rajkot. Five players included in the squad did not take part in England's most recent ODI tour of India in 2011: Danny Briggs, Eoin Morgan, James Tredwell, Stuart Broad and James Anderson.

Ajinkya Rahane & Stuart Meaker

Stuart Meaker, who won his two ODI caps in India during October last year, is the only uncapped member of a 13-strong T20 squad

National selector Geoff Miller said: "We know that playing limited-overs cricket in India can be challenging but the T20 and ODI series provide an excellent opportunity for these players to show that they have learnt valuable lessons from the last ODI series against India and improved as players in sub-continent conditions.

“We have selected squads containing experienced international players alongside younger players who have impressed playing for England Lions and the England Performance Programme recently and who deserve an opportunity to establish themselves in the England side.

"We are constantly looking to manage the workload of players as effectively as possible and this winter is no different so there are number of players who are being rested for parts of the winter programme. This will enable them to take part in fitness and conditioning programmes in preparation for a busy 2013."

England T20 squad

Stuart Broad (captain, Nottinghamshire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Jos Buttler (Somerset)
Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire)
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Luke Wright (Sussex)

England ODI squad

Alastair Cook (captain, Essex)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
James Anderson (Lancashire) / Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire) *

* James Anderson will be in the squad for the warm-up fixtures and first three ODI matches only. He will be replaced by Stuart Broad for the remainder for the five-match series.

England Fixtures

T20 Series

December 20: 1st T20, Pune, Shara Stadium
December 22: 2nd T20, Mumbai, Wankhede Stadium

ODI Series

January 6: Tour match (D/N), Delhi
January 8: Tour match, Delhi
January 11: 1st ODI (D/N), Rajkot, SCA Stadium
January 15: 2nd ODI (D/N), Kochi, Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium
January 19: 3rd ODI (D/N), Ranchi, JSCA International Stadium
January 23: 4th ODI, Mohali, PCA Stadium
January 27: 5th ODI Dharamsala, HPCA Cricket Stadium