RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Saggers becomes first-class umpire

ECB Association of Cricket Officials

Steve O’Shaughnessy & Martin Saggers

Martin Saggers, right, joins the ECB first-class full list of umpires for 2012 having already officiated in the LV= County Championship

Martin Saggers has been added to the ECB first-class full list of umpires for 2012 following the retirement of John Steele at the end of the 2011 season.

As well as being capped three times for England in 2003 and 2004, Saggers played first-class cricket for Durham and Kent between 1996 and 2009, and has been umpiring since 2010.

ECB umpires’ manager Chris Kelly said: “We would like to congratulate Martin on his promotion to the full list, which has been the result of some outstanding performances in matches over the last couple of seasons. His commitment and attitude on the reserve list has been exemplary and his promotion is thoroughly deserved.”

In addition, three more umpires have been appointed to the ECB reserve list of umpires: Ben Debenham from Essex, Paul Pollard formerly of Nottinghamshire and Worcestershire and Mike Burns formerly of Warwickshire and Somerset.

ECB full list 2012: Rob Bailey, Neil Bainton, Mark Benson, Martin Bodenham, Nick Cook, Nigel Cowley, Jeff Evans, Steve Gale, Steve Garratt, Michael Gough, Ian Gould, Peter Hartley, Richard Illingworth, Trevor Jesty, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Jeremy Lloyds, Neil Mallender, David Millns, Steve O’Shaughnessy, Tim Robinson, Martin Saggers, George Sharp, Peter Willey.

ECB reserve list 2012: Paul Baldwin, Mike Burns, Ismail Dawood, Ben Debenham, Mark Eggleston, Russell Evans, Graham Lloyd, Paul Pollard, Billy Taylor, Alex Wharf.