RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

ECB squad set for European duty


The England and Wales Cricket Board has selected a representative squad to participate in the ICC Europe Women’s World Cup Qualifying Championships at Stirling County Cricket Club, Scotland, from August 6-12.

Full squads from Ireland, Scotland and the Netherlands will be participating, with two of these three teams progressing to the ICC Women's World Cup Qualifiers in Bangladesh next year. The ECB representative side is not eligible to qualify as it is not a full national side.

The representative side has been selected from the England Women’s Academy and the ECB U17 girls' development squad.

The squad will play under the guidance of Paul Shaw, high performance manager for women’s and girls’ cricket, and Mark Lane, the England women’s head coach.

Shaw said: “This is a great opportunity for these young, high-potential players from across the country to gain valuable experience of performing at international level.

“This competition provides the players with the opportunity to apply the skills they have acquired and developed within training sessions with their counties.

“The learning that both players and coaches will take from this experience will be huge and is crucial for the short-, medium- and long-term development of each player.”

ECB squad

Jo Cook (captain, Essex)
Izzy Westbury (vice-captain, Somerset)
Georgia Adams (Sussex)
Amara Carr (wicketkeeper, Devon)
Deanna Cooper (Kent)
Catherine Dalton (Essex)
Kathryn Doherty (Yorkshire)
Alex Hartley (Lancashire)
Beth Langston (Essex)
Beth MacGregor (Essex)
Alice MacLeod (Berkshire)
Lucy Maxwell (Warwickshire)
Hannah Phelps (Sussex)
Fran Wilson (Somerset)


August 9
Ireland v Scotland
Netherlands v ECB Development XI

August 10
ECB Development XI v Ireland
Netherlands v Scotland

August 11
Ireland v Netherlands
Scotland v ECB Development XI