RSS feeds from

Media Releases news RSS

Women's fixtures confirmed

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160
Charlotte Edwards & Claire Taylor

England will be bidding to build on their Ashes success © Getty Images

The England and Wales Cricket Board has announced the dates for the 2008 NatWest women’s international fixtures against South Africa and India.

The ECB and Cricket South Africa have come to the decision to replace the proposed one-off Test match with two additional ODI matches.

This extends the NatWest ODI series to five matches and will provide both teams with a more relevant build-up to the ICC Women's World Cup in March 2009. Both the additional matches will be staged at Shenley.

Clare Connor, head of women’s cricket, said: “The England women's cricket team has an extremely busy and exciting 12 months coming up.

“It kicks off with a packed summer here in England with both South Africa and India touring. South Africa arrives first to play a five-match NatWest Women’s Series and three NatWest Women’s International Twenty20s.

“We then welcome India in late August for a further five-match NatWest Women’s Series and one NatWest Women’s International Twenty20.

“There has never been a more exciting time for women’s cricket in England and Wales and this summer's schedule offers ideal preparation for 2009 when we will compete in the World Cup in Australia in March and then the World Twenty20 in June here in England.

NatWest Series

“We’ve got some fantastic venues lined up for the summer and are looking forward to some big crowds following the success of the winter tour to Australia where the Ashes were retained, and to New Zealand where the team won the ODI series 3-1.”

The second NatWest Women’s one-day international on August 8 against South Africa will be played at Lord’s.

England will be hoping to perform as well as they did in their last outing at the home of cricket against India in 2006 when Claire Taylor made 156 not out, the highest score at the ground in a one-day international.

India will provide England with their second challenge of the summer when they arrive later in August for a second NatWest Women’s Series of five one-day internationals and one NatWest Women’s International Twenty20.

Sky Sports will televise the third NatWest Women’s one-day international and the only NatWest Women’s international Twenty20 fixture live from the home of women’s cricket, Somerset CCC, on September 4 and 5 respectively.

All NatWest Women’s Series matches will start at 10.45am, with the final match, a day/night game against India starting at 2.30pm.

The NatWest Women’s international Twenty20s will commence at 2.30pm, with the exception of the televised match at Taunton on September 5 which will start at 2.35pm.


Aug 6: England v S Africa, 1st ODI, Canterbury
Aug 8: England v S Africa, 2nd ODI, Lord’s
Aug 11: England v S Africa, 3rd ODI, Shenley
Aug 14: England v S Africa, 4th ODI, Shenley
Aug 18: England v S Africa, 5th ODI, Chesterfield

Aug 20: England v S Africa, 1st T20, Chesterfield
Aug 22: England v S Africa, 2nd T20, Wantage Road
Aug 23: England v S Africa, 3rd T20, Wantage Road

Aug 28: MCC v India, one-day tour match, Bath

Aug 30: England v India, 1st ODI, Bath
Sept 1: England v India, 2nd ODI, Taunton
Sept 4: England v India, 3rd ODI, Taunton1
Sept 5: England v India, T20, Taunton1
Sept 7: England v India, 4th ODI, Arundel
Sept 9: England v India, 5th ODI (day/night), Hove

1Matches shown live on Sky Sports