ECB Structure

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160
Giles Clarke

ECB chairman Giles Clarke

Responsibility for the day-to-day running of the ECB rests with the executive management team who report directly to the chief executive, with each enjoying a high degree of functional delegated authority.

The chief executive, in turn, reports to the chairman of the ECB Board. This was expanded in size from 12 to 14 members in May 2010; for the first time including two women directors.

An executive committee chaired by the chief executive is responsible for delivering the ECB’s strategic plans and three other committees (cricket, commercial and finance) are actively responsible for working with the leadership team on policy, planning and strategic issues - plus also an arm’s-length Discipline Standing Committee.

The board is comprised of a chairman, deputy chairman and chairman of cricket elected by all 40 members of ECB, two independent directors, three directors from the first-class game, two directors from the recreational game, two ECB executives, a women’s game representative and an MCC representative.

ECB board composition