Duckworth & Lewis attend ACO awards

ECB Association of Cricket Officials

Duckworth Lewis ECB-ACO-Conference

Frank Duckworth and Tony Lewis were among those to deliver presentations at the 2010 ACO conference at Lord's

Frank Duckworth, Tony Lewis and Henry Blofeld were among the guest speakers at the 2010 National Association of Cricket Officials conference.

Duckworth and Lewis successfully explained to umpires how one of the most complicated equations in sport actually came about and how the system is used in today’s game.

Veteran broadcaster Blofeld, meanwhile, was the day’s keynote speaker and delivered a highly entertaining presentation to the 185 officials in attendance.

The conference also included demonstrations of Hawkeye and Total Cricket Scorer gave attendees an insight into how technology affects both scoring and umpiring.

ICC Elite Panel umpire Ian Gould and Test Match Special scorer Malcolm Ashton also took to the stage before proceedings concluded with the presentation of the 2010 Shepherd-Frindall awards.

Winners of the awards were:

League and Panels – Keith Coburn & Cambridgeshire League Panel

Young Volunteer – Alasdair Shaikh, Sussex

Lifetime Achiever – Jeff Levick, Hampshire

Behind the Scenes – David Kirk, Hampshire

OSCA’s Official Award – Peter Robinson, Blind Cricket Umpires Association