RSS feeds from

Livescores RSS

Gloucestershire collapse hands Glamorgan victory

Highlights from the SWALEC Stadium where Glamorgan finished on a high

Glamorgan rounded off their LV= County Championship season with a convincing eight-wicket win over Gloucestershire at the SWALEC Stadium.

With only 102 required for victory, Murray Goodwin helped guide Glamorgan home with 50 not out on a final day when 12 wickets fell.

Gloucestershire were skittled for 132 in their second innings, Jim Allenby adding figures of 4-16 to his first-innings 85 as Glamorgan marched to their third four-day win in 2013.

The Welsh side took 22 points from the game but still finished eighth in Division Two, while Gloucestershire’s five-point haul left them sixth, behind Worcestershire by virtue of winning one less game.

After a complete washout on day three, Glamorgan resumed their first innings on 271 for nine - four runs behind.

Last pair Michael Hogan and Dean Cosker duly extended their final-wicket stand to 62, taking Glamorgan to 306 and an unexpected lead of 31.

Gloucestershire were then rolled over inside 45 overs, despite making a solid start to their second innings.

The visitors had wiped out their arrears when Chris Dent edged Hogan behind to fall for 13 and went on to reach a seemingly comfortable position at 73 for one.

However, a dramatic pre-lunch collapse saw four wickets fall in 13 balls to Ruaidhri Smith and Allenby. The latter had Gareth Roderick held at extra-cover and Will Gidman lbw either side of Smith striking twice in an over by bowling Alex Gidman and inducing a nick through to wicketkeeper Mark Wallace from Ian Cockbain.

Gloucestershire were therefore reeling on 78 for five at the interval and rarely looked likely to recover.

Smith had Cameron Herring caught behind for his third wicket and Allenby helped clean up the tail as the innings came to an end shortly before tea.

In reply, Glamorgan lost Gareth Rees to the second ball of the innings and then Ben Wright for 17 in the 11th over.

But Goodwin, with 50 from 106 balls, and Chris Cooke steered Glamorgan to the winning post with 11.3 overs to spare.