Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Australia Women name squad for Ashes T20s

Australia have named a 13-player squad for the three Women’s Twenty20 matches against England that form part of the forthcoming Ashes series.

Holly Ferling, left, has been named in Australia's T20 squad for the Women's Ashes alongside captain Jodie Fields

Wicketkeeper-batter Jodie Fields resumes her role as captain for the games, the first of which takes place in Hobart on January 29.

Chair of selectors Julie Savage said: “The most recent Women’s Ashes held in England last August was decided during the T20 phase of the series and, with the two teams so evenly matched, we expect a tough contest this time around.

“The selected squad play an exciting brand of T20 cricket. We think the Australian public will enjoy watching the stroke-play of Meg Lanning, Alex Blackwell and Elyse Villani, who have all had exceptional seasons in the domestic WT20 competition.

“Our batters will be well supported by the bowling of Ellyse Perry and Holly Ferling, whose pace is a genuine asset for the side.”

England begin their Ashes defence when the Test match in Perth gets under way on Friday, before opening the three-match one-day international portion of the rubber at Melbourne’s iconic MCG on January 19.  

Australia captain: Jodie Fields (captain), Meg Lanning (vice-captain), Alex Blackwell, Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani.

Follow the Women's Ashes ball-by-ball via the following media:

Live Scores: and 
Twitter: @ECB_cricket and @SouthernStars 
Television: live stream at  
Radio: 5 Live Sports Extra, ABC Grandstand or online via

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, LV= County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on