Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Bears secure Malik signature

Experienced Pakistan all-rounder Shoaib Malik has signed to play for Birmingham Bears, Warwickshire’s new Twenty20 name, in this year's NatWest T20 Blast.

The 32-year-old former Pakistan captain, a World Twenty20 winner in 2009, has agreed to play six games for the Bears. He is set to make his debut on June 19 against the Northants Steelbacks and his last appearance versus Notts Outlaws on July 8.

Shoaib Malik bowls useful off-spin as well as his classy middle-order batting that together have earned him 303 appearances for Pakistan

Malik, who has featured in 55 Twenty20 internationals, 216 one-day internationals and 32 Tests, represented Hobart Hurricanes in this winter’s Big Bash League and was the top-scorer in last year's inaugural Caribbean T20 Premier League with 272 runs for Barbados Tridents.

Warwickshire director of cricket Dougie Brown said: "Shoaib has proven himself as a world-class all-rounder on the international stage and in some of the world's biggest T20 competitions.

"Bolstering a strong squad with Shoaib's T20 experience is an exciting proposition for the team as we look to progress in this new look tournament, hopefully to finals day in front of our home fans at Edgbaston."

Malik, a middle-order batsman and handy off-spinner who played for Gloucestershire in 2003 and 2004, said: "I'm very excited to have signed for a huge club like the Bears. I enjoyed my short stints with Gloucestershire many years ago and sadly haven't been able to play county cricket since then because of my Pakistan commitments.

"Hopefully I can make an important contribution in my time at Edgbaston that helps the Birmingham Bears be successful in this competition."

Buy county tickets

Buy tickets to see county cricket, or become a member of your local county - full details and links

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on