Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Coetzer back for World T20 qualifiers

Captain Kyle Coetzer is fit to return to Scotland's squad for next month's World Twenty20 qualifiers in the United Arab Emirates.

Coetzer was today named in the 15-man party after recovering from a wrist injury that kept him out of the recent World Cricket League and Intercontinental Cup fixtures against Ireland.

The squad includes seven centrally contracted players, including Scotland's leading one-day international wicket-taker Majid Haq.

Matt Machan, who was recently named Sussex young player of the year, will also make the journey to Dubai along with wicketkeeper David Murphy, who played a significant role in guiding Northamptonshire to the Friends Life t20 title as well as promotion the the LV= County Championship.

Also named in the squad are two of Scotland's emerging young talents, Michael Leask and Matthew Cross. Freddie Coleman is unable to tour due to university studies, while work commitments keep Calvin Burnett out of selection contention.

Coetzer said: "I'm really excited about the challenges that lie ahead. It's a significant tournament and it's crunch time now. This is an opportunity to show the character of this squad.

"Having the likes of Paul Collingwood and Craig Wright joining our coaching team is only going to add to the experience we have at our disposal.

"Paul has had a successful season at Durham, and being an Ashes and T20 World Cup-winner he will bring that unique knowledge, and with Craig being a former Scotland captain, it's an exciting time.

"We've got the quality in the squad, there is no doubt about that, we just have to make sure that we show our potential."

Scotland will prepare with a 12-day tour to Sri Lanka before two warm-up games against the United States and Namibia in Dubai. They begin their qualification campaign against Bermuda on November 15.

Six teams will qualify for next year's World Twenty20, which will be held in Bangladesh from March 16.

Scotland squad: Kyle Coetzer (capt), Preston Mommsen (vice-capt), Richie Berrington, Neil Carter, Matthew Cross, Gordon Goudie, Majid Haq, Moneeb Iqbal, Michael Leask, Matt Machan, Calum MacLeod, David Murphy, Safyaan Sharif, Robert Taylor, Iain Wardlaw.

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on