Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Cook and Anderson among Super Six

England captain Alastair Cook and fast bowler James Anderson have been named on the six-man shortlist for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award for 2013.

The England duo are joined by South Africa's Hashim Amla, Australia's Michael Clarke, Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara.

Anderson, Amla and Clarke are also among the six players in the running for the Test Cricketer of the Year, along with India pair Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravichandran Ashwin, plus South Africa paceman Dale Steyn. Sangakkara won both titles in 2012.

James Anderson and Alastair Cook have been nominated for ICC Cricketer of the Year, included in a list with four others

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sangakkara is also in contention for the ODI Cricketer of the Year crown, which he won in 2011.

The other players nominated this year are India trio Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja and Shikhar Dhawan - who helped their country lift the Champions Trophy this summer - as well as Pakistan pair Saeed Ajmal and Misbah-ul-Haq.

England's Joe Root is in the running for the Emerging Cricketer of the Year accolade while three members of England's women's team are up for honours.

Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole have been shortlisted for the Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year with Sarah Taylor in contention to be Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year.

Ireland pair Kevin O'Brien and Ed Joyce, along with Scotland's Kyle Coetzer, are on a four-man list for the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year.

The winners of the LG ICC Awards, which also includes various other categories, will be announced on December 14.

The ICC, meanwhile, also announced its Test and ODI teams of the year today.

Cook is in the Test side for the third successive year and named as captain, while Anderson and Graeme Swann are also in the XI. Anderson is England's only representative in the ODI line-up.

Test Team of Year: Cook (Eng, captain), Pujara (Ind), Amla (SA), Clarke (Aus), Hussey (Aus), De Villiers (SA), Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper), Swann (Eng), Steyn (SA), Anderson (Eng), Philander (SA). 12th Man: Ashwin (Ind).

ODI Team of Year: Dilshan (SL), Dhawan (Ind), Amla (SA), Sangakkara (SL), De Villiers (SA), Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper), Jadeja (Ind), Ajmal (Pak), Starc (Aus), Anderson (Eng), Malinga (SL). 12th Man: McClenaghan (NZ).

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, LV= County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on