Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Cowdrey return seals second for Lordswood

With the Kent Premier League Champions Hartley already crowned and relegation issues settled last week, the only matters to determine were the runners up and where the next four clubs would end up in the table.

Defeats for Bickley Park at Bromley and wins for Lordswood and Blackheath meant it was Lordswood who claimed the runners up spot on the final weekend.

On return to his former Club, Fabian Cowdrey scored 120 and Zak Elkin 79 as Lordswood reached 275 for six from their 50 overs. The Sevenoaks Vine batting failed as they were dismissed for just 130 as they slumped to a defeat by 145 runs.

Champions Hartley ended their season in style as they amassed an impressive 357 for three against relegated visitors Whitstable. Congratulations to Jake Hutson who notched up his maiden Premier century scoring 122.

Dan Stickles scored 110 and James Thompson 61 in the notable Hartley total. Whitstable could only manage 172 in reply as Hartley finished off with a victory by 185 runs.

There were two further centuries on the day. Bromley's Wayne Morgan blasted an unbeaten 119 from just 68 balls and Daniel Bell-Drummond 113 for Blackheath as Bromley beat Bickley Park and Blackheath defeated Beckenham at the Rectory Field.

Due to the weather, the start was delayed at Plaistow Lane where Bickley Park won the toss in a 27 over a side game and elected to bat. Chris Coulson top scored with 48 as Bickley scored at 5.75 an over to set Bromley 155 to chase. Wayne Morgan made light work of the chase as Bromley reached their target in just the 17th over.

At Blackheath, following Bell-Drummond's century, Beckenham failed to chase down the Blackheath total of 255 for seven, falling 69 runs short with Will MacVicar producing the only innings of substance with 68.

Bexley ended the season on a high as they defeated the already relegated Sibton Park by 151 runs. Maruf Chowdhury scored 54 and latterly Min Patel 57 as Bexley set their visitors 254 to chase. Sibton's season came to a sad end as they were dismissed for only 102, Tim Bishop top scoring with 37.

Congratulations to Sandwich Town whose win over St Lawrence ensured them second place in Division 1 and thus promotion back to the Premier Division in 2014.


Get your free site to help run your club, league or competition on ECB's official network throughout England and Wales

Great resources for your club

A gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face

Facilities and Funding

Lots of info on facilities and investments and club programmes; plus detailed technical specs & guidance on obtaining funding