Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Dearne enjoy dream Lord's debut

Dearne Cricket Club made light of any nerves on their first trip to Lord's as they won the ECB Indoor National Club Championship yesterday.

The Yorkshire side produced an excellent batting performance in their semi-final against Neyland, before going on to beat Bridgwater by five runs in the final thanks to some disciplined bowling and athletic fielding.

Dearne's players celebrate with the trophy after beating Bridgwater by five runs in a nail-biting final of the ECB National Indoor Club Championship at Lord's

Grieg Batty was Dearne's top-scorer in the final, with his unbeaten 32 guiding his side to 120 for five from their 12 overs after electing to bat.

Wicketkeeper Liam Mitchell and Mark Williams both contributed useful knocks of 25 to help repair some of the damage of Joe Cooper falling for a duck.

While that total was 46 runs fewer than Dearne managed in their semi-final, it proved adequate as Bridgwater - for whom Chris Skidmore (1-19) and Ian Higgins (1-21) were the pick of the bowlers - came up short on 115 for three.

The Somerset outfit lost Andy Hallaran for nought in the first over of their reply, stumped by Mitchell off Andrew Whaley, and then saw Whaley get his second wicket of the match as he had Josh Vickery caught by Cooper for 13.

Dearne then proceeded to reduce Bridgwater's scoring options and some tight bowling by Whaley (2-23) and Batty (0-21) left them needing 20 off the final over.

Stuart Butt (32 not out) and Skidmore (27 not out) came close, but Dearne held on to take the trophy.

In their semi-final, Dearne were put in by their Welsh opponents and proceeded to amass one of the largest scores seen at an Indoor National Club final for some years.

Impressive knocks by captain Nick Dymock (41), Williams (32), Batty (31) and Whaley (28 not out) saw the South Yorkshire league side reach 166 for five off their 12 overs, Nick Kooman being the pick of the Neyland bowlers with 2-35.

In reply the Welsh side started steadily after the early loss of Kooman to recover to 64 for one, but some tight Dearne bowling from Batty (1-14) and Williams (0-11) always meant Neyland were behind the asking rate.

Andrew Miller's determined 39 was the highlight for Neyland but he was the last man out, run out, as they were dismissed for 114.

Watch our video as Dearne were crowned ECB Indoor National Club Champions at Lord's

In the second semi-final, previous champions Broadstairs, who last won in 1997, lost to Bridgwater by 19 runs.

Captain Andy Hallaran was the pick of the Bridgwater batsmen as he reached 42 and was supported by both Josh Vickery (27 not out) and Ian Higgins (24) as they reached 147 for five. Jake Benfield continued his impressive regional final display for Broadstairs with 1-25 from his three overs.

Broadstairs started their reply well but, much like the first semi-final, were always slightly behind the required run-rate in their chase.

Andrew Bailey weighed in with a well-struck 40 but all four Bridgwater bowlers took a wicket and Bailey was left on his own in the last couple of overs.

He was caught at the end of the penultimate over to leave the Kent side 128 all out and Bridgwater, who had lost their previous two national semi-finals, made it to the final.

In a close final, it was the South Yorkshire side's tight bowling and excellent fielding which saw them prevail by five runs against Bridgwater


Get your free site to help run your club, league or competition on ECB's official network throughout England and Wales

Great resources for your club

A gateway to the self-help support resources available to help cricket clubs meet the ever changing demands and challenges they face

Facilities and Funding

Lots of info on facilities and investments and club programmes; plus detailed technical specs & guidance on obtaining funding