Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Dutch and Hong Kong reach World T20

The Netherlands have qualified for the 2014 World Twenty20 at Scotland’s expense, along with Hong Kong who denied Papua New Guinea a place.

In the second of two winner-takes-all contests at Abu Dhabi, the Dutch overhauled their opponents’ 147 for six with eight wickets and 2.1 overs to spare.

Michael Swart and Wesley Barresi celebrate the Netherlands' comfortable win over Scotland that meant the Dutch qualified for the World T20

Scotland, who won the toss, lost their opening batsmen for ducks, but Matt Machan and Michael Leask put on 111 for the third wicket en route to 61 and 58 respectively.

Although Neil Carter bowled Stephen Myburgh for nought in the reply’s first over, Ben Cooper hit 40, Wesley Barresi 75 not out and Michael Swart an unbeaten 30 to earn victory.

Earlier, Hong Kong appeared to have made a mistake in choosing to bat first by slipping to 19 for four, yet Babar Hayat’s 48 lifted them to 137 for nine.

In response, PNG were dismissed for 108 in 19.1 overs with former England international Geraint Jones making 20.

The Netherlands and Hong Kong’s progression means the six qualifiers for the tournament in Bangladesh are now known, Nepal and the United Arab Emirates yesterday having joined Afghanistan and Ireland.

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on