Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

ECB announces Cricketers of the Year

Matt Prior and Katherine Brunt have been named, respectively, as the England Men's and England Women's Cricketer of the Year for 2012-2013.

Essex and England Under 19s wicketkeeper-batsman Ben Foakes won the England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year award while the England Disability Cricketer of the Year award was presented to Matthew Dean from England's Visually Impaired squad.

All four were honoured at a special dinner held in the Long Room at Lord's this evening, which was hosted by ECB and Brit Insurance, the sponsor of all England's cricket teams.

Matt Prior Katherine Brunt Matt DeanThe awards recognise outstanding performances in all formats of international cricket over the past year beginning with last summer's domestic international programme and encompassing the recent winter tours.

Matt Prior overcame competition from last year's winner James Anderson and England Test and ODI captain Alastair Cook to win the Men's Award which was decided by votes from members of the cricket media.

He is the first England wicketkeeper to win this award after enjoying an excellent year behind the stumps and with the bat - scoring seven Test half-centuries and a match-saving hundred in England's most recent Test against New Zealand in Auckland.

Pace bowler Katherine Brunt won the Women's award for a third time, after previous triumphs in 2006 and 2010, following a year in which she proved to be England's most consistent performer with the ball. Brunt picked up 12 wickets in England's ICC Women's World Cup campaign in India. Her fellow nominees were Holly Colvin, Charlotte Edwards and Sarah Taylor.

Ben Foakes was the winner of the England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year award. The Essex wicketkeeper-batsman was England ‘s leading run-scorer at the Under-19 World Cup in Australia last summer, toured India with the England Performance Programme squad over the winter and Australia with England Lions earlier this year. He also made 93 on his LV= County Championship debut for Essex against Leicestershire earlier in the summer.

Matthew Dean, from Welling in Kent, received the Disability Cricketer of the Year award after enjoying an outstanding 12 months with the England Visually Impaired squad. He was the team's leading run-scorer in last winter's T20 World Cup for the Blind in India - contributing 490 runs at an average of more than 80.

Matt Prior's unbeaten century in the recent Auckland Test, which helped England draw the five-day series against New Zealand, also won the TwelfthMan Cricketing Moment of the Year Award, voted for by members of ECB's TwelfthMan fan community on Facebook.

ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: "There have some memorable individual performances across all our England teams over the past year - a 12-month period which saw the England Men's team win a Test Series in India for the first time in 28 years and England Women complete a clean sweep of four NatWest Series wins at home last summer.

"We congratulate the winners, Matt, Katherine, Matthew and Ben, on their individual achievements and thank all those who took part in the judging process as well as our team sponsor Brit, and the MCC, for their help in staging our annual awards ceremony."

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on