Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

England name Champions Trophy squad

England selectors today named a 15-man squad for the three-match NatWest ODI series against New Zealand commencing 31 May and the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 commencing 8 June.

Their first fixture of the latter is against Australia at Edgbaston followed by matches versus Sri Lanka at the Kia Oval and New Zealand at the Cardiff Wales Stadium in the group stages.

The two top-ranked sides from the group will continue to the semi-final stages of the tournament.

Alastair Cook will captain a side that includes two additions from the squad that defeated New Zealand 2-1 in February with Tim Bresnan and Ravi Bopara added.

Six members of the party (James Anderson, Bopara, Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Eoin Morgan and Graeme Swann) were involved in the last ICC Champions Trophy held in 2009 in South Africa.

Geoff Miller, National Selector, said: “We know that the three-match series against New Zealand will be very challenging and we will need to play some very good cricket if we are to repeat the success we had against them earlier this year and build momentum leading into the ICC Champions Trophy.

"The ICC Champions Trophy provides this England squad with a great opportunity to win a global 50-over event - something we have yet to achieve, and we are excited to be playing on home soil.

"We are fully aware that with the best eight sides in world cricket competing against each other we will need to play a very high standard of cricket over a three-week period to give ourselves a chance of winning the title and are very much looking forward to the challenge.”

England NatWest ODI Series and ICC Champions Trophy squad

Alastair Cook (Essex) Captain
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Jos Buttler (Somerset) Wicketkeeper
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

NatWest ODI Series vs New Zealand schedule

1st ODI - 31 May, Lord’s
2nd ODI - 2 June, Ageas Bowl
3rd ODI - 5 June, Trent Bridge

ICC Champions Trophy

vs Australia - 8 June, Edgbaston
vs Sri Lanka - 13 June, The Oval
vs New Zealand - 16 June, The Cardiff Wales Stadium

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on