Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

England's record at the MCG

England's most recent visit to the MCG should provide the tourists with a modicum of comfort ahead of the Boxing Day Test.

Three years ago almost 85,000 crammed into the vast stadium for the start of play but it was only the England fans who remained at the close to see their side finish on 157 without loss.

Earlier, James Anderson and Chris Tremlett took four wickets each as the tourists bowled Australia out for a paltry 98 - their second-lowest total at the ground.

Graeme Swann leads the sprinkler dance in 2010 after England won in Melbourne to go 2-1 up in the seriesJonathan Trott went on to make his second ton of the series as England made 513 before the bowlers, led by Tim Bresnan, sealed an innings-and-157-run victory.

England will again have significant travelling support in Melbourne, who will be hoping to see a first win of the series.

In 55 Ashes Tests dating back to 1877, the tourists have won 20 compared to 27 Australia victories while seven matches have ended in a draw. There was also one abandoned Test in 1970-71.

In their last eight outings, England have triumphed four times, twice in thrilling style and twice by an innings.

The tourists' three-run win in 1982, which mirrored Edgbaston in 2005, was one of the great Ashes Tests.

England were inserted and subsequestly bowled out for 284 with Chris Tavare's 89 and 83 from Allan Lamb the mainstay of the total.

In reply Australia edged into a three-run lead thanks to half-centuries from Kim Hughes, David Hookes and Rodney Marsh. Bob Willis and Geoff Miller finished with three wickets apiece.

Graeme Fowler hit 65 when England batted again but they needed contributions from Ian Botham, Derek Pringle and Bob Taylor to reach 294.

Chasing 292 to win, the hosts looked in charge as they reached 171 for three thanks to a century stand from Hughes and Hookes.

But the game turned once Hughes edged Miller behind as Australia collapsed, losing six wickets for just 47 runs with Norman Cowans the chief destroyer.

England celebrate winning a thriller in Melbourne Test in 1982 - a victory sealed by Geoff Miller's slip catch

That flurry of wickets left them 218 for nine, still 74 adrift with last pair Allan Border and Jeff Thomson charged with stealing an unlikely win.

They got close, very close, until a final piece of drama sealed it.

Thomson, who had defied England for more than two hours, nicked Botham to second slip where Tavare fumbled before Miller, stationed at first slip, swooped to scoop the ball up.

England again won in nail-biting fashion in 1998 when Dean Headley bowled Alec Stewart's side to an improbable 12-run victory.

Australia, 2-0 up in the series, were coasting in pursuit of 175 and, when the Waugh brothers took the score to 130 for three, there was seemingly only one winner.

Step forward Headley, who took 5-9 in six overs, before Darren Gough dismissed Stuart MacGill and Glenn McGrath in the space of three balls to spark joyous scenes as the shadows crept across the outfield.

England-Australia Melbourne records

England wins: 20
Australia wins: 27
Draws: 7
Abandoned: 1

England - highest total: 589; lowest total: 61
Australia - highest total: 604; lowest total: 98

1877: Australia won by 45 runs
1877: England won by four wickets
1879: Australia won by 10 wickets
1881: Draw
1882: Draw
1882: Australia won by nine wickets
1883: England won by an innings and 27 runs
1885: England won by 10 wickets
1885: England won by an innings and 98 runs
1892: Australia won by 54 runs
1894: England won by 94 runs
1895: England won by six wickets
1898: Australia won by an innings and 55 runs
1898: Australia won by eight wickets
1902: Australia won by 229 runs
1902: Australia won by 32 runs
1904: England won by 185 runs
1904: Australia won by 218 runs
1908: England won by one wicket
1908: Australia won by 308 runs
1911: England won by eight wickets
1912: England won by an innings and 225 runs
1920: Australia won by an innings and 91 runs
1921: Australia won by eight wickets
1925: Australia won by 81 runs
1925: England won by an innings and 29 runs
1928: England won by three wickets
1929: Australia won by five wickets
1932: Australia won by 111 runs
1937: Australia won by 365 runs
1937: Australia won by an innings and 200 runs
1947: Draw
1950: Australia won by 28 runs
1951: England won by eight wickets
1954: England won by 128 runs
1958: Australia won by eight wickets
1959: Australia won by nine wickets
1962: England won by seven wickets
1965: Draw
1966: Draw
1970: Abandoned
1971: Draw
1974: Draw
1975: England won by an innings and four runs
1977: Australia won by 45 runs
1978: Australia won by 103 runs
1980: Australia won by eight wickets
1982: England won by three runs
1986: England won by an innings and 14 runs
1990: Australia won by eight wickets
1994: Australia won by 295 runs
1998: England won by 12 runs
2002: Australia won by five wickets
2006: Australia won by an innings and 99 runs
2010: England won by an innings and 157 runs

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

iPhone and Android apps

Download ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia for live scores, news, videos

Follow on Facebook

Join the conversation on the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now!