Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

England's record at the SCG

England's tally of 22 Test wins at the Sydney Cricket Ground is their highest at any venue in Australia.

Always spurred on by huge support, England often save their best performances for the SCG and Alastair Cook's men will need to do the same if they want to avoid a series whitewash.

In total there have been 54 Ashes Tests played at this historic ground dating back to 1882 with the hosts tasting victory 25 times while seven matches have ended in draws.

England will have happy memories of the last time they played in Sydney, when Chris Tremlett bowled Michael Beer to seal an historic 3-1 series win.

There were tears when the two teams met seven years ago. Australia cruised to a 10-wicket victory, celebrated a 5-0 whitewash and said farewell to three legends in Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath and Justin Langer.

It was the first time since the 1920-21 Ashes that one side had won every Test.

England supporters will smile when recalling the 2003 encounter which Nasser Hussain's team won by 225 runs.

Trailing 4-0 and with only pride at stake, the tourists made 362 in the first innings with Mark Butcher’s 124 the highlight. Australia’s reply was all about Steve Waugh who, battling the critics and some poor form, reached a stunning century off the final ball of the second day. Waugh’s home ground rose as one to salute their hero.

Adam Gilchrist then smashed a ton as just one run separated the sides at the halfway stage.

Michael Vaughan, then the world's best batsman, responded with 183, his third century of the tour as Australia were set a record 452 to win.

They did not come close as Andy Caddick took 7-94 to complete a 10-wicket haul, which gave England something to finally smile about.

Four years earlier England lost by 98 runs in a Test they should have won. Chasing 287 to level the series at 2-2, the tourists looked comfortable as Hussain and Mark Ramprakash took the score to 110 for two – only for Stuart MacGill to leave the tourists in a spin with 7-50.

England dominated the 1995 Test, which became famous for Mike Atherton declaring with Graeme Hick unbeaten on 98 as the skipper pushed for a Test victory.

Atherton’s decision meant England had a day and a session to bowl out the hosts, but it was not to be as a spirited eighth-wicket stand between Warne and Tim May that lasted 77 minutes denied the tourists.

England-Australia Sydney records

England wins: 22

Australia wins: 25

Draws: 7

England - highest total: 644; lowest total: 45

Australia - highest total: 659 for eight; lowest total: 42

1882: Australia won by five wickets

1882: Australia won by six wickets

1883: England won by 69 runs

1883: Australia won by four wickets

1885: Australia won by six runs

1885: Australia won by eight wickets

1887: England won by 13 runs

1887: England won by 71 runs

1888: England won by 126 runs

1892: Australia won by 72 runs

1894: England won by 10 runs

1895: Australia won by an innings and 147 runs

1897: England won by nine wickets

1898: Australia won by six wickets

1901: England won by an innings and 124 runs

1902: Australia won by seven wickets

1903: England won by five wickets

1904: England won 157 runs

1907: Australia won by two wickets

1908: Australia won by 49 runs

1911: Australia won by 146 runs

1912: England won by 70 runs

1920: Australia won by 377 runs

1921: Australia won by nine wickets

1924: Australia won by 193 runs

1925: Australia won by 307 runs

1928: England won by eight wickets

1932: England won by 10 wickets

1933: England won by eight wickets

1936: England won by an innings and 22 runs

1946: Australia won by an innings and 33 runs

1947: Australia won by five wickets

1951: Australia won by an innings and 13 runs

1954: England won by 38 runs

1955: Draw

1959: Draw

1963: Australia won by eight wickets

1963: Draw

1966: England won by an innings and 93 runs

1971: England won by 299 runs

1971: England won by 62 runs

1975: Australia won by 171 runs

1979: England won by 93 runs

1979: England won by nine wickets

1980: Australia won by six wickets

1983: Draw

1987: Australia won by 55 runs

1988: Draw

1991: Draw

1995: Draw

1999: Australia won by 98 runs

2003: England won by 225 runs

2007: Australia won by 10 wickets

2011: England won by an innings and 83 runs

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

iPhone and Android apps

Download ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia for live scores, news, videos

Follow on Facebook

Join the conversation on the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now!