Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Groundsman of the Year Awards made

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today confirmed the 2013 Groundsman of the Year Awards.

John Dodds, Andy Ward, Matthew Merchant and John Mode, left to right, display their trophies at the Groundsman of the Year AwardsMatthew Merchant from Emirates Old Trafford is the winner of the four-day category with Andy Fogarty from Headingley taking the runner-up prize. In the one-day category, the winner is Andy Ward from Grace Road with the runner-up prize awarded to the Emirates Durham ICG's David Measor.

Commendations went to Stuart Kerrison (Chelmsford), Steve Birks (Trent Bridge) and Mick Hunt (Lord's) in the four-day pitch category, while Andy Fogarty (Headingley) and Simon Lee (Taunton) were commended in the one-day category.

John Moden from Fenner’s, Cambridge, is the winner for pitches at MCC Universities with Will Relf at Loughborough the runner-up. John Dodds at Scarborough was awarded the Outgrounds prize.

Every pitch is rated at the end of the match by each of the umpires with these ratings used as the basis for making the awards.