Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

India rest senior quintet for Zimbabwe ODIs

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is among five senior players rested by India, the World Cup and Champions Trophy holders, for five one-day internationals away to Zimbabwe this month and next.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the others while Murali Vijay has been dropped.

Virat Kohli leads the tourists, who make off-spinner Parvez Rasool the first cricketer from Jammu & Kashmir to earn a national call-up. Mohit Sharma also gets a maiden call while Cheteshwar Pujara, Jaydev Unadkat and Ajinkya Rahane have been recalled.

There is no place for the previously dropped quartet Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan.

India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Cheteshwar Pujara, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Parvez Rasool, Shami Ahmed, R Vinay Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohit Sharma.