Browse News

News by Competition News by Topics News by County Teams News by International Teams

Join TwelfthMan now!

Ireland spun out by Mendis

Ireland failed to cope with Ajantha Mendis as they lost the first of two one-day internationals against Sri Lanka in Dublin by 79 runs.

The hosts had their illustrious opponents 95 for five and 176 for eight, but the momentum swung as Mendis and Nuwan Kulasekara hit 43 from the final 22 balls and Ireland then slipped to five for two.

A fifty partnership between captain Will Porterfield and Niall O'Brien was as good as it got as Mendis took 3-27 from his 10 overs to help bowl Ireland out for 140.

Ajantha Mendis, who hit 18 not out and then took 3-27, receives the man of the match award from Cricket Ireland president Joe Doherty

Kusal Perera fell to the fourth ball of the match and Lahiru Thirimanne edged Alex Cusack to wicketkeeper Gary Wilson.

Stuart Thompson had Upul Tharanga nicking to Wilson, making it 57 for three, and Dinesh Chandimal's innings of 39 was brilliantly ended by Kevin O'Brien's catch off his own bowling.

Paul Stirling then struck with his second ball, Kithuruwan Vithanage edging to Ed Joyce at slip, before Sri Lanka's century came up, five down, from the last ball of the 31st over.

The key wicket of Angelo Mathews came via a direct-hit from Niall O'Brien but new man Kulasekara quickly lifted Cusack for a straight six.

Ashan Priyanjan made 31 from 44 balls, with four boundaries, before chipping Dockrell to Joyce at mid-on and Tim Murtagh, who took 2-21, removed Sachithra Senanayake for three.

But Dockrell went for 17 runs in the 48th over including three successive boundaries for Mendis, who finished 18 not out from only nine balls with Kulasekara unbeaten on 42 from 34 balls.

Ireland started badly as Stirling edged Kulasekara for four but was bowled next ball and the in-form Joyce failed to trouble the scorers, edging Suranga Lakmal to keeper Chandimal.

Porterfield and Niall O'Brien produced a handful of boundaries in a stand of 58 before the latter fell lbw to Mendis for 33.

Wilson was run out and Kevin O'Brien holed out first ball off Lakmal, and when Thompson was trapped on the crease by Mendis, Ireland were 74 for six.

Their last hope went when Porterfield, who hit 37, hoisted Mendis to Perera at deep square-leg, and Cusack made 10 before being yorked by Lakmal.

Max Sorensen was dismissed from the first ball after drinks and though Dockrell  and Murtagh at least went down fighting, the Middlesex paceman was trapped lbw by Senanayake after hitting two boundaries.

iPad and mobile apps

Get live scores, news, videos with ECB Cricket Live for iPad and ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry, Nokia

Follow us on Twitter

Stay up to date and fully informed wherever you are by following ECB_cricket on Twitter

Watch county highlights

Watch highlights from NatWest T20 Blast, County Championship, Royal London One-Day Cup action on